Protect yourself online. Learn how to hide your browsing history. × Quick exit
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Virtual Displays: National Inspirational Role Model Month

This guide showcases eBook versions of physical displays at the Fr. Leonard Alvey Library.

Dalai Lama

The book will be essential reading for anyone who follows world affairs, for those with an interest in the explosive interaction between religion and politics in contemporary Buddhism and spirituality, and for those who are irresistibly drawn to the mesmerising figure that is the Dalai Lama himself.

Einstein

Einstein's science and emotional life come together in this vivid portrait of a rebellious and contradictory figure, a pacifist whose legendary equation E=mc2 opened scientists' eyes to the terrible power within every atom.

The Fun of It

Autobiography of the famous flyer which describes her own ambitions to become a pilot and offers advice to others.

I, Steve

Drawn from more than three decades of media coverage--print, electronic, and online--this book serves up the best, most thought-provoking insights ever spoken by Steve Jobs.

Oprah Winfrey Speaks

Drawing on hundreds of sources, Janet Lowe provides an evocative, personal portrait. Here are Oprah's opinions on everything from childhood and overcoming adversity to dealing with fame and staying real.

Vincent Van Gogh

The incarnation of the myth of a cursed artist, Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) is a legend who became a reference for modern art.

Lincoln in His Own Time

Showing not only the development of a powerful mind but the ways in which our sixteenth president was perceived by equally brilliant American minds of a decidedly literary and political bent, Harold K. Bush "Lincoln in His Own Time" provides some of the most significant contemporary meditations on the Great Emancipator's legacy and cultural significance.

Mother Teresa

Gëzim Alpion explores the significance of Mother Teresa to the mass media, to celebrity culture, to the Church and to various political groups.

Marie Curie

Readers will be inspired by the work and life of this scientist who went on to win two Nobel Prizes.

An Autobiography or the Story of My Experiments with Truth

The first critical, annotated edition of M. K. Gandhi's most famous written work, published seventy years after his death.

Francis of Assisi

In this authoritative and engaging new biography, Augustine Thompson, O.P., sifts through the surviving evidence for the life of Francis using modern historical methods. The result is a complex yet sympathetic portrait of the man and the saint.

Helen Keller

Helen Keller: Selected Writings collects Keller's personal letters, political writings, speeches, and excerpts of her published materials from 1887 to 1968. The book also includes an introductory essay by Kim E. Nielsen, headnotes to each document, and a selected bibliography of work by and about Keller.

The Truth about Tesla

Consider this: Everything you think you know about Nikola Tesla is wrong. Newly uncovered information proves that the popular account of Tesla's life is itself very flawed. In The Truth About Tesla, Christopher Cooper sets out to prove that the conventional story not only oversimplifies history, it denies credit to some of the true inventors behind many of the groundbreaking technologies now attributed to Tesla and perpetuates a misunderstanding about the process of innovation itself.

Martin Luther King, Jr

In the masterly and riveting Martin Luther King, Jr., Frady draws on his twenty-five years of award-winning commentary on American race relations to give an inspiring portrait of this amazing leader and the turbulent era in which he lived.

The Jane Effect

The Jane Effect: Celebrating Jane Goodall is a collection of testimonies by her friends and colleagues honoring her as a scientific pioneer, an inspiring teacher, a devoted friend, and an engaging spirit whose complex personality tends to break down usual categories.

Toussaint Louverture

The leader of the only successful slave revolt in history, Toussaint Louverture is seen by many to be one of the greatest anti-imperialist fighters who ever lived.

Jesse Owens

Author Jacqueline Edmondson explores Owens' struggles and hard-earned accomplishments, as well as how he paved the way for future generations of athletes, including color-line shatterer Jackie Robinson.

Nelson Mandela

This volume is an enjoyable, authoritative, and balanced way to not only understand a great man, but also to understand a critical time in world history and race relations.

Kahlo

Behind Frida Kahlo's portraits, lies the story of both her life and work. It is precisely this combination that draws the reader in. Frida's work is a record of her life, and rarely can we learn so much about an artist from what she records inside the picture frame.

Message to Aztlán

Message to Aztlan is the first collection of Gonzales' diverse writings: the original I Am Joaquin (1967), along with a new Spanish translation; seven major speeches (1968-78); two plays, The Revolutionist and A Cross for Malcovio (1966-67); various poems and a selection of letters. Eight pages of photographs accompany the text.

Latina Legacies

An extraordinary exploration of Latinas in the United States from the 1800s to the present, this collection of narrative biographies documents the lives of fifteen remarkable individuals who witnessed, defined, defied, and wrote about the forces that shaped their lives.This anthology profiles Victoria Reid, Maria Amparo Ruiz de Burton, Maria Gertrudis Barcelo, Loreta Janeta Velazquez, Luisa Capetillo, Lola Rodriguez de Tio, Teresa Urrea, Adelina Otero Warren,Jovita Gonzalez Mireles, Pura Belpre, Luisa Moreno, Carmen Miranda, Antonia Pantoja, Ana Mendieta, and Dolores Huerta.

Exit with Honor

This biography, based on recent research into the Reagan archives and synthesis of the large memoir literature, explores the shaping of his values and beliefs during his childhood in the American heartland, his leadership of the American conservative movement, and his successful political career culminating in the first two-term presidency since Dwight Eisenhower.

The Trial of Joan of Arc

Here is one of our richest sources for the life of a medieval woman. This new translation, the first in fifty years, is based on the full record of the trial proceedings in Latin.

Children of the Movement

Profiling 24 of the adult children of the most recognizable figures in the civil rights movement, this book collects the intimate, moving stories of families who were pulled apart by the horrors of the struggle or brought together by their efforts to change America.

We Write What We Like

A celebration of Steve Biko's legacy of freedom.

Theodore Roosevelt

As Roosevelt's Harvard classmate and friend for forty years, the author knew this pivotal American President extremely well--though they rarely saw eye-to-eye on political matters. This 1919 life story, published near the time of Roosevelt's death, provides students of history and politics with a one-of-a-kind perspective.