Protect yourself online. Learn how to hide your browsing history. × Quick exit
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Virtual Displays: Social Work

This guide showcases eBook versions of physical displays at the Fr. Leonard Alvey Library.

March is Social Work Month

To learn more about Social Work Month, visit the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) website. 

Social Work Online - New Social Work Resource

Social Work Online is a resource that pairs recently published social work textbooks along with compelling documentaries, clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners. 

Social Work Practice

Essential Law for Social Workers

This book explores legal concepts, legal reasoning, and legal processes--illustrated with case vignettes from social work practice--in order to provide social work practitioners and students with practical and accessible legal knowledge. 

Legal Issues in Social Work, Counseling, and Mental Health

This book covers a broad range of topics, including providing testimony, responding to subpoenas, dealing with an attorney, influencing the legal system, and understanding the legal side of the business of psychotherapy. 

Contemporary Social Work Practice

An introduction to the diverse settings of social work, detailing the relevant policy context, methods and approaches.

Social Work Practice and the Law

This is the first book to give social workers the tools to understand their clients' legal needs and rights and to address them collaboratively and effectively. Social Work Practice and the Law is a powerful call for social workers to be passionate and skillful advocates for their clients. Essential reading for social workers and lawyers alike who serve low-income people entangled in systems that so often fail them.

Professional Writing for Social Work Practice

This user-friendly guide to effective writing skills focuses specifically on the types of writing social work practitioners are required to do in everyday practice: writing for agency reports, client documentation, court letters, and grant writing applications, among other documents. It includes abundant real-world examples drawn from all areas of social work practice. 

Facilitative Leadership in Social Work Practice

This foundation-level training manual for social work students and practitioners will help readers become more effective agents of change through understanding the meaning, principles, and characteristics of facilitative leadership. Facilitative leadership is a form of leadership in which the leader directs a group but does not dictate the outcome of the group discussion. This form of leadership is essential for, and uniquely suited to, social workers whose entire profession is based on helping clients determine their own goals and how to achieve them. 

Advocacy and Social Work Practice

Skills in advocacy are essential for every social work student and practitioner. This accessible book provides an introduction to advocacy, examining the theoretical knowledge and practical skills needed to undertake advocacy roles and work constructively with the growing number of independent advocates.

Decision Cases for Advanced Social Work Practice

These fifteen cases take place in child welfare, mental health, hospital, hospice, domestic violence, refugee resettlement, veterans' administration, and school settings and reflect individual, family, group, and supervised social work practice. They confront common ethical and treatment issues and raise issues regarding practice interventions, programs, policies, and laws. Cases represent open-ended situations, encouraging students to apply knowledge from across the social work curriculum to develop problem-solving and critical-thinking skills. 

Applying Theory to Generalist Social Work Practice

Applying Theory to Generalist Social Work Practice teaches aspiring social workers how to apply theory in real-world practice. Fully aligned with the Council on Social Work Education's 2015 Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards, the book links theory to practice with clear, concise instruction including a discussion of evidence-based practice. 

Social Workers' Desk Reference

Following in the groundbreaking path of its predecessor, the second edition of the Social Workers' Desk Reference provides reliable and highly accessible information about effective services and treatment approaches across the full spectrum of social work practice. Succinct, illuminating chapters written by the field's most respected and experienced scholars and practitioners ensure that it will continue to be the sourcebook for all social workers. 

Personal Safety for Social Workers and Health Professionals

The book covers the theoretical understanding of the impact of threats on professional safety and decision-making, including the reality of the experience of social workers and other professionals - statistics and case examples the impact of physical and psychological threat hostage theory as it applies to social work  It also addresses actions that workers can take to greatly reduce risk such as: improving safety awareness teamwork support supervision organisational responses and the duty of care of employers  

Professional Writing Skills for Social Workers

This book gives social workers practical guidance on how to write analytically

Reflective Practice for Social Workers: a Handbook for Developing Professional Confidence

Reflective practice is at the heart of becoming a competent and confident social work professional. This book demystifies the reflective process and provides a straight forward knowledge base to enhance professional development.

Applied Social Sciences

A collection of essays specific to the field of social work. The approach is both holistic (assessment of social work, burnout, counseling, history of social work, migration, models of excellence in social work, unemployment, workaholics) and atomistic (child attachment, children's rights, coping strategies and associated work-family conflict, emotional neglect, mono-parental families, physical abuse, positive child disciplining, psychological abuse, rehabilitation of delinquent minors, social inclusion of youth, etc). 

Professional Boundaries in Social Work and Social Care

This book is a no-nonsense guide to boundaries - what they are, why they are there and how to maintain them, from legal boundaries and policies governing behavior to rules surrounding confidentiality. Presenting a flexible framework of rules and guidelines which can be applied to any client relationship, the book offers practical advice and suggestions on how to judge boundaries and how to manage a situation when they have been crossed. 

Social Work and Families

Safeguarding Children Living with Trauma and Family Violence

Offering a systematic approach to evidence-based assessment and planning for children living with trauma and family violence, this practical book shows how to assess and analyze the needs of the child, make specialist assessments where there are continuing safeguarding concerns (using the Assessment Framework) and plan effective child-centered and outcome-focused interventions.  

Social Work Reclaimed

Reclaiming Social Work (RSW) is a radical new system for delivering child and family social work in the UK. The system was first piloted in the London Borough of Hackney and the model has gained national recognition. At the heart of this innovative system is the endeavor to keep children together with their families.This book sets out what the Reclaiming Social Work model is, how it was implemented, and how it works. 

Multicultural Perspectives in Social Work Practice with Families, 3rd Ed

Encompassing the most current issues faced by multicultural families across the lifespan and the social workers who serve them, this popular textbook contains ten new chapters and provides content that has been significantly expanded throughout. These new and reconceived chapters offer professors and social work graduate students a broader and more comprehensive take on the key issues that arise when treating families from diverse cultural backgrounds and current, evidence-based models for assessment and treatment. 

Evidence-based Social Work Practice with Families

Empirically-informed practice is increasingly important as managed health care environments demand accountability in mental health and healthcare services. In this comprehensive text, Dr. Corcoran makes implementing evidence-based clinical practice easy. She reviews the most common problem areas social workers encounter. Each chapter assesses the family treatment outcome literature, addresses different theoretical orientations, summarizes the most current clinical research studies, and provides information on standardized, self-report instruments and their validity. Topics include: child physical abuse and neglect, ADHD, sexual abuse, eating disorders, schizophrenia, caregiving of the elderly, and more.

Transnational Social Work Practice

A growing number of people--immigrants, refugees, asylum-seekers, displaced individuals, and families--lead lives that transcend national boundaries. Though migration itself has existed for centuries, the availability of fast and cheap transportation, as well as today's sophisticated technologies and electronic communications, have allowed transmigrants to develop transnational identities and relationships, as well as engage in transnational activities. Yet despite this new reality, social work has yet to establish the parameters of a transnational social work practice. In one of the first volumes to address social work practice with this emergent and often marginalized population, practitioners and scholars specializing in transnational issues develop a framework for transnational social work practice. 

Social Work with Troubled Families

A critical introduction to the Troubled Families Programme (TFP), this book explores the roots, significance and effectiveness of troubled family approaches in social work. An important strand of government social policy, the TFP gives rise to a number of ethical and political questions about assertive outreach, choice, use of power and eliding the structural inequalities which, it is often argued, largely account for the difficulties troubled families face. Social Work with Troubled Families: A Critical Introduction debates these issues, offers an examination of the systemic framework which underpins it and looks at the initiative in a broader context. 

Understanding Families

Interventionists educators, health care professionals, therapists, and social workers will get the strong foundation they need with the NEW edition of this trusted textbook, a comprehensive guide to working effectively and respectfully with contemporary families. Highly respected experts Marci Hanson and Eleanor Lynch have expanded and updated their bestselling text, weaving in cutting-edge research on social, demographic, and economic changes and connecting the research to best practices in family-centered care. With a strong emphasis on family resilience, this book gets pre-service and in-service professionals ready to work with a broad range of families with diverse structures, backgrounds, and circumstances.  

A New Home: young adults and transitional housing

Homeless young adults represent a failure of the U.S. social services system to prevent new generations of homeless people. However, several organizations are working in concert with communities and governments to combat this problem through transitional housing programs that target young adults ages 18 to 24. The sense of community these young-adult residents feel toward their neighborhoods and programs have lasting effects on the residents' abilities to find normalcy inside the American culture through access to education, safety, and employment. This study examines the YMCA Young Adult Services Program (serving the greater Seattle area) for transitional housing, exploring how the program works and what is residents' psychological sense of community.

Helping Children Affected by Parental Substance Abuse

This practical resource provides a wealth of activities and photocopiable worksheets to use with children and young people affected by parental substance misuse. The activities and worksheets in this book have been designed to assist counselors, therapists and other professionals to facilitate group sessions for children of addicted parents. Each chapter reviews a different issue related to children living in substance abusing homes, and gives step-by-step instructions for leading a group session, accompanied by the latest research and suggestions for discussions based on best practices. 

A Practical Guide to Early Intervention and Family Support

Parental mental health problems and substance misuse affect a significant number of families. This handbook provides practitioners with early intervention techniques and effective support strategies for ensuring the best outcomes for these vulnerable families.Featuring pointers, models and practice examples, A Practical Guide to Early Intervention and Family Support considers the concept of resilience and effective family support. 

Diversity and Multiculturalism

Multicultural Social Work Practice

A thorough exploration of diversity and social justice within the field of social work Multicultural Social Work Practice: A Competency-Based Approach to Diversity and Social Justice, 2nd Edition has been aligned with the Council on Social Work Education's 2015 Educational Policy and Standards and incorporates the National Association of Social Workers Standards of Cultural Competence. 

Paradigms of Clinical Social Work

Designed to mirror how social work theory and practice is taught, Paradigms of Clinical Social Work, Volume 3 presents new therapeutic models through an imaginary family experiencing common social work problems.

Mastering Approaches to Diversity in Social Work

Central to a social worker's role is the ability to work with people from diverse backgrounds, but social workers can often feel anxious and unsure of how to approach anti-discriminatory practice.This book, grounded in practice experience, is an accessible guide to diversity issues in social work. Packed with tools and models for practice, it considers the concept of diversity and how people differ, provides a model for understanding discrimination, and discusses cross-cultural communication, including the impact and use of language. 

Being White in the Helping Professions

In this reflective yet practical book, the author challenges white helping professionals to recognize their own cultural identity and the impact it has when practicing in a multicultural environment.Judy Ryde reveals how white people have implicit and explicit advantages and privileges that often go unnoticed by them. She suggests that in order to work effectively in a multicultural setting, this privilege needs to be fully acknowledged and confronted. 

Multicultural Aspects of Human Behavior

This third edition has a title modification, in that the previous two editions were titled Multicultural Aspects of Disabilities: A Guide to Understanding and Assisting Minorities in the Rehabilitation Process. This edition is titled Multicultural Aspects of Human Behavior: A Guide to Understanding Human Cultural Development. The reason for the title modification is to expand and emphasize cultural impacts with regard to human behavior and in doing so the goal is to identify factors which impact cultural development and cultural perceptions of various groups of people such as persons with disabilities, ethnic/racial minorities, women, the elderly, as well as gays, lesbians and people of different religious denominations. 

Advancing Human Rights in Social Work Education

  • The authors press readers to address not only the human rights violations reported widely in the media, but also more familiar issues such as child welfare, poverty, food insecurity, racism, and violence against women. In addition, readers will find ideas for course design and teaching strategies and ample reference material, such as specialized treaties of specific relevance to social work, country and shadow reports, and complaint mechanisms. This book illustrates how the powerful idea of human rights can inform and transform social work education, and ultimately, professional practice.

Social Justice Counseling

Social Justice Counseling is the next step toward alleviating the injustices faced by individuals in society and it is a natural extension of multicultural counseling. Issues of social justice are dominating conferences across the mental health disciplines, with a greater focus on alleviating broader social inequities such as equity, access and fairness for each individual. At a micro level social justice issues play out in the form of gender discrimination, sexual harassment, equal access to education, fair housing, and more. This books offers a supplement to important issues regarding social justice and will highly enhance the content taught in multicultural courses. The authors are leading authorities on social justice counseling and have led the way to create a specialization in social justice counseling at their school at George Mason University. This book is the first to bring all these concepts together, tie them to multiculturalism, and offer personal applications and tools for mental health professionals.

Multicultural and International Approaches in Social Work Practice

Building upon the author's integrative and interactive ideas about human services fields, this book presents an intercultural perspective of social work education, practice, and research with culturally linguistically-relationally underprivileged minority groups in the local and global communities, to show how the synthesis of theories from postmodern social constructionism, multiculturalism, and international organization empowerment can be applied when working with Asian immigrant families. 

Cultural Diversity and Social Work Practice

The profession of social work has a long and admirable history of attending to issues related to diversity and oppression. This new edition continues to examine the disciplinary attention regarding the provision of services to clientele who were most often marginalized by mainstream society.  The goal of this book is to bridge the gaps and to present to readers, in one source, a wealth of practice-relevant information about African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Native Americans, gay, lesbian, and bisexual individuals, women, the aged, the developmentally disabled, and those with adult-onset physical disabilities. Additional topics include the hearing-impaired, visually-impaired, and social work practice with refugees. 

Social Work with Multicultural Youth

This vital book illustrates the diversity within the adolescent population, examines the factors that serve as barriers and as facilitators to development, and identifies strengths and protective factors contributing to resilience as well as needs and risk factors. Social Work with Multicultural Youth presents accurate conceptual frameworks for understanding the experiences of ethnic youth to help you create culturally relevant interventions to promote their well-being.