LibGuides: Virtual Displays: National Domestic Violence Awareness Month 2021

What is Domestic Violence?

Main Points (via Opposing Viewpoints: Domestic Violence)

Domestic violence and intimate partner violence are types of abuse that occur within romantic or committed relationships, including but not limited to marriage. Such abuse among two adolescents in a close relationship is referred to as teen dating violence.
Intimate partner violence includes physical abuse, such as assault, threats, and intimidation; sexual abuse, such as unwanted sexual contact or coercion; and psychological abuse, such as humiliation or controlling behavior.
Domestic violence is a problem among all races, ages, genders, sexual orientations, socioeconomic classes, races, and ethnicities. Groups with higher-than-average rates of victimization are multiracial, indigenous, black, and lesbian, gay, or bisexual Americans.

("Domestic Violence." Gale Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, Gale, 2020. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, https://go-gale-com.brescia.idm.oclc.org/ps/retrieve.do?resultListType=RELATED_DOCUMENT&searchType=ts&userGroupName=brescia1&inPS=true&contentSegment=&prodId=OVIC&docId=GALE|PC3010999223&it=r)

If you are in crisis and need to speak with a counselor immediately please contact:

Domestic Violence Hotline: (800) 799-SAFE (7233)

OR text "START" to 88788

New Beginnings 24 Hour Crisis Line: (800) 226-7273

Oasis Women's Shelter toll free: (800) 882-2873

- - -

In the case of an emergency, call 9-1-1 or go to your nearest emergency room

- - -

A special thanks to Terri for helping us gather resources for this LibGuide!

Domestic Violence by Jerry L. Johnson; George Grant
ISBN: 9780205389520
Publication Date: 2004-10-11
Each title in the Allyn & Bacon Johnson & Grant Casebook Series presents three to four in-depth cases in a different topic area, prefaced by an introduction to generalist social work practice. Allyn & Bacon Casebook Series for Domestic Violence, First Edition by Jerry Johnson and George Grant provides students with personal and intimate glimpses into the thinking and actions of experienced practitioners working with clients coping with domestic violence. The contributors to this casebook combined many decades of social work experience and teaching to create a one-of-a-kind tool for students to study and analyze how practitioners think about practice.
Educated by Tara Westover
ISBN: 9780399590504
Publication Date: 2018-02-20
Tara Westover was seventeen the first time she set foot in a classroom. Born to survivalists in the mountains of Idaho, she prepared for the end of the world by stockpiling home-canned peaches and sleeping with her "head-for-the-hills bag." In the summer she stewed herbs for her mother, a midwife and healer, and in the winter she salvaged in her father's junkyard. Her father distrusted the medical establishment, so Tara never saw a doctor or nurse. Gashes and concussions, even burns from explosions, were all treated at home with herbalism. The family was so isolated from mainstream society that there was no one to ensure the children received an education, and no one to intervene when an older brother became violent. When another brother got himself into college and came back with news of the world beyond the mountain, Tara decided to try a new kind of life. She taught herself enough mathematics, grammar, and science to take the ACT and was admitted to Brigham Young University.
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence by Nicky Ali Jackson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415642217
Publication Date: 2015-08-24
The Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence is a modern reference from the leading international scholars in domestic violence research. This ground-breaking project has created the first ever publication of an encyclopedia of domestic violence. The primary goal of the Encyclopedia is to provide information on a variety of traditional, as well as breakthrough, issues in this complex phenomenon. The coverage of the Encyclopedia is broad and diverse, encompassing the entire life span from infancy to old age.
In Contempt by Kristin Kalsem
ISBN: 9780814292747
Publication Date: 2012-03-14
In Contempt: Nineteenth-Century Women, Law, and Literature, by Kristin Kalsem, explores the legal advocacy performed by nineteenth-century women writers in publications of nonfiction and fiction, as well as in real-life courtrooms and in the legal forum provided by the novel form. The nineteenth century was a period of unprecedented reform in laws affecting married women's property, child support and custody, lunacy, divorce, birth control, domestic violence, and women in the legal profession. Women's contributions to these changes in the law, however, have been largely ignored because their work, stories, and perspectives are not recorded in authoritative legal texts; rather, evidence of their arguments and views are recorded in writings of a different kind. This book examines lesser-known works of nonfiction and fiction by legal reformers such as Annie Besant and Georgina Weldon and novelists such as Frances Trollope, Jane Hume Clapperton, George Paston, and Florence Dixie.
Nobody's Victim by Carrie Goldberg; Jeannine Amber (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780525533771
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
Riveting and an essential timely conversation-starter, Nobody's Victim invites readers to join Carrie on the front lines of the war against sexual violence and privacy violations as she fights for revenge porn and sextortion laws, uncovers major Title IX violations, and sues the hell out of tech companies, schools, and powerful sexual predators. Her battleground is the courtroom; her crusade is to transform clients from victims into warriors. In gripping detail, Carrie shares the diabolical ways her clients are attacked and how she, through her unique combination of advocacy, badass relentlessness, risk-taking, and client-empowerment, pursues justice for them all. "
Supernormal by Meg Jay
ISBN: 9781455559152
Publication Date: 2017-11-14
Clinical psychologist and author of The Defining Decade, Meg Jay takes us into the world of the supernormal: those who soar to unexpected heights after childhood adversity. Whether it is the loss of a parent to death or divorce; bullying; alcoholism or drug abuse in the home; mental illness in a parent or a sibling; neglect; emotional, physical or sexual abuse; having a parent in jail; or growing up alongside domestic violence, nearly 75% of us experience adversity by the age of 20. But these experiences are often kept secret, as are our courageous battles to overcome them.
Women in the Crossfire by Robert Paul Churchill
ISBN: 9780190468569
Publication Date: 2018-08-13
Every year, thousands of girls and women die at the hands of blood relatives. These victims are accused of committing honor violations that bring shame upon their families: such "transgressions" range from walking with a boy in their neighborhood to seeking to marry a man of their ownchoosing, to being a victim of rape.Women in the Crossfire presents a thorough examination of honor killing, an ages-old social practice through which women are trapped and subjected to terror and deadly violence as consequences of the evolution of dysfunctional patriarchal structures and competition among men for domination.
Yes I Can, (Sí, Yo Puedo) by Catherine Marrs Fuchsel
ISBN: 9780190672829
Publication Date: 2017-12-07
The Si, Yo Puedo (SYP) program manual is a step-by-step, culturally specific, 11-week curriculum for Spanish-English graduate level licensed mental health professionals (e.g., clinical social workers, professional counselors, family and marriage therapists, psychologists). Si, Yo Puedo is Yes,I Can in English. The empowerment program the text outlines is designed to provide education, promote self-esteem, prevent domestic violence, and help readers understand healthy relationships within a cultural framework.

The Cry of Tamar: Violence Against Women and the Church's Response by Pamela Cooper-White
ISBN: 9781451424423
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
In this comprehensive, practical, and gripping assessment of various forms of violence against women, Pamela Cooper-White challenges the Christian churches to examine their own responses to the cry of Tamar in our time. She describes specific forms of such violence and outlines appropriate pastoral responses. The second edition of this groundbreaking work is thoroughly updated and examines not only where the church has made progress since 1995 but also where women remain at unchanged or even greater risk of violence.
Domestic Violence and Protecting Children by Cathy Humphreys (Editor); Nicky Stanley (Editor); Joanne Westwood (Contribution by); Nicola Farrelly (Contribution by); Lorraine Radford (Contribution by); et al.
ISBN: 9780857008756
Publication Date: 2015-08-21
In this volume, the authors present an overview of the innovative work taking place in relation to domestic violence and child protection. This book looks at new prevention initiatives and how interventions for children exposed to domestic violence have been developed.
Dynamics of Family and Intimate Partner Violence by Charm : Springer
ISBN: 9783030426088
Publication Date: 2020
This book provides a research-based analysis of the dynamics of several types of violence in families and close relationships, as well as a discussion of theories relating to the experiences of victims. Drawing on recent research data and case studies from their own clinical experiences, the authors examine causes, experiences, and interventions related to violence in various forms of relationships including children, elders, and dating or married couples.
Faith in Freedom: Muslim Immigrant Women's Experiences of Domestic Violence by Nafiseh Ghafournia
ISBN: 9780522874297
Publication Date: 2019
How do Australian Muslim immigrant women understand domestic violence? How do they experience domestic violence? How do they respond to domestic violence? What role does their faith play? How do immigration-related factors intersect with culture, religion and gender to shape the women's experiences of domestic violence and responses to it? Faith in Freedom answers the above questions by analysing the Muslim immigrant women's own narratives of domestic violence. The study contributes to understandings of the intersections between factors such as gender, culture, religion and immigration, and the ways in which different social locations interact in Muslim immigrant women's experiences of abuse.
Hearing Young People Talk about Witnessing Domestic Violence by Susan Collis; Gill Hague (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780857007353
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
At least 750,000 children a year worldwide witness domestic violence. These children grow up with an increased risk of developing symptoms associated with trauma and behavioural and mental health problems. This book explores the cases of five young people who have been victims of domestic violence. Allowing the young people to speak out in their own voices, it provides deep insight into how their experiences have affected their emotional behaviour, the complexities of issues related to it and those aspects of support which provide the greatest benefit to them. Drawing on her own personal experience of domestic violence as well as her professional expertise, the author emphasizes the importance of giving voice to victims of domestic violence and highlights the importance of acknowledging the emotional and spiritual lives of victims in order to provide holistic support and understanding, and it's potential to instigate healing.
LGBTQ Intimate Partner Violence by Adam M. Messinger
ISBN: 9780520961357
Publication Date: 2017-01-10
Nationally representative studies confirm that LGBTQ individuals are at an elevated risk of experiencing intimate partner violence. While many similarities exist between LGBTQ and heterosexual-cisgender intimate partner violence, research has illuminated a variety of unique aspects of LGBTQ intimate partner violence regarding the predictors of perpetration, the specific forms of abuse experienced, barriers to help-seeking for victims, and policy and intervention needs. This is the first book that systematically reviews the literature regarding LGBTQ intimate partner violence, draws key lessons for current practice and policy, and recommends research areas and enhanced methodologies.
The Man Brand by Jean Jaymes West
ISBN: 9781536133028
This book explores public perceptions, often reinforced by public service advertising campaigns, of stereotypes tied to violence--which frequently portray men only as the aggressor, the abuser, or the perpetrator, and women only as vulnerable, helpless victims. What is even more disturbing is that research suggests that the abuse of men is often viewed by the public as a "joke." It is hard for the public and law enforcement to perceive of males as "victims," as that is not part of the public perception of the "man brand." This research investigates exactly what that public perception of the "man brand" is--and why public beliefs tied to gender stereotypes might be inaccurate--as well as what hinders a full understanding and public acknowledgement of the true nature of that "brand." This work takes a progressive first step in expanding a complete understanding of what reinforces stereotypes tied to gender and intimate partner violence. (Nova)
Overcoming Domestic Violence by Myra F. Taylor; Julie Ann Pooley; Robert S. Taylor
ISBN: 9781633219977
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This book presents a range of interesting and diverse papers in order to demonstrate the importance and need for intervention programs that deal with the harmful effects that domestic violence causes to primary and secondary victims as well as to perpetrators. These papers reveal that the traditional within family home male-upon-female definitional understanding of domestic violence in the modern needs era to be broadened to include such experiences as dating violence, LGBT intimate partner violence and the childhood witnessing of domestic violence, to name but a few. Additionally, it is argued that intervention programs, given the scale of the domestic violence problem within society, need to be delivered in a non-gendered and non-stigmatizing manner to both the survivor and the perpetrator. For, regardless of the gender of the perpetrator, it is the act itself of committing violence that needs to be eradicated.
Rethinking Domestic Violence by Donald G. Dutton
ISBN: 9780774813044
Publication Date: 2006-05-24
Rethinking Domestic Violence is the third in a series of books by Donald Dutton critically reviewing research in the area of intimate partner violence (IPV). The research crosses disciplinary lines, including social and clinical psychology, sociology, psychiatry, affective neuropsychology, criminology, and criminal justice research. Since the area of IPV is so heavily politicized, Dutton tries to steer through conflicting claims by assessing the best research methodology. As a result, he comes to some very new conclusions.
Understanding Adult Survivors of Domestic Violence in Childhood by Gill Hague
ISBN: 9780857002792
Publication Date: 2012-05-15
Domestic violence experienced in childhood continues to have an enduring emotional impact into adulthood. The scars it leaves can impact on family lives, employment, and long-term emotional and mental health. This book explores the experiences of adult survivors of domestic violence in childhood. The authors draw on many years' experience at the forefront of the field to bring together current research, best practice guidance for those working with both adults and children, personal testimonies and creative writing from survivors. The book addresses how to work with children exposed to domestic violence to address the issues before they grow up, as well as guidance on working with adult survivors.
Violence Against Women in Kentucky by Carol E. Jordan
ISBN: 9780813144931
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
For more than two centuries, Kentucky women have fought for the right to vote, own property, control their wages, and be safe at home and in the workplace. Tragically, many of these women's voices have been silenced by abuse and violence. In Violence against Women in Kentucky: A History of U.S. and State Legislative Reform, Carol E. Jordan chronicles the stories of those who have led the legislative fight for the last four decades to protect women from domestic violence, rape, stalking, and related crimes. The story of Kentucky's legislative reforms is a history of substantial toil, optimism, advocacy, and personal sacrifice by those who proposed the change. This compelling narrative illustrates, through their own points of view, the stories of survivors who serve as inspiration for change.

Crime After Crime by Yoav Potash(Producer)(Director)(Cinematographer)(Editor)Ben Ferrer(Cinematographer)Oprah Winfrey(On-screen presenter.)Rosie O'Donnell(On-screen presenter.)
Call Number: DVD364.374 .C929
Publication Date: 2012
In 1983, Deborah Peagler, a woman brutally abused by her boyfriend, was sentenced to 25 years-to-life for her connection to his murder. Twenty years later, California passed a law allowing incarcerated domestic violence survivors to reopen their cases. This documentary follows two attorneys who take Debbie's case and strive to attain testimonies of long lost witnesses, proof of perjured evidence, and new testimonies from the men who committed the murder.
On Life's Terms: Mother's in Recovery by Sheila Ganz(Film director)(Film producer), Regina Kulik Scully(Film producer) Debbie Brubaker(Film producer)
Call Number: DVD362.29 .O58
Publication Date: 2015
Follows five women with substance use disorders struggling to transform their lives and regain custody of their children in a gender responsive residential treatment program in San Rafael, CA. Their intimate story reveals experiences with domestic violence, prostitution, incarceration and complex inter-generational relations. The film interweaves the women's three year journey to self-sufficiency and pride with drug laws that impact mother and child.

DESCRIPTION: Leslie Morgan Steiner was in "crazy love" -- that is, madly in love with a man who routinely abused her and threatened her life. Steiner tells the dark story of her relationship, correcting misconceptions many people hold about victims of domestic violence, and explaining how we can all help break the silence. "(Filmed at TEDxRainier.)"

DomesticShelters.org

"We make finding the right shelter and information about domestic violence easier. Instead of searching the Internet, it is all right here. We’ve painstakingly verified information on shelters in LA to shelters in NY, and every domestic violence program in between. If you or a friend is suffering from physical abuse, emotional abuse, psychological abuse or verbal abuse, this free service can help." ("About DomesticShelters.org")

Domestic Violence Awareness Project

The Domestic Violence Awareness Project (DVAP) supports the rights of all individuals, especially women and girls, to live in peace and dignity. Violence and all other forms of oppression against all communities and families must be eliminated. The purpose of the DVAP is to support and promote national, tribal, territorial, state, and local advocacy networks in their ongoing public education efforts through public awareness, strategies, materials, resources, capacity-building, and technical assistance. ("About the DVAP Project")

Futures without Violence

"Futures Without Violence is a health and social justice nonprofit with a simple mission: to heal those among us who are traumatized by violence today – and to create healthy families and communities free of violence tomorrow. From domestic violence and child abuse, to bullying and sexual assault, our groundbreaking programs, policy development, and public action campaigns are designed to prevent and end violence against women and children around the world" ("Home")

Kentucky Association of Sexual Assault Programs

"The Kentucky Association of Sexual Assault Programs (KASAP) is the coalition of Kentucky's 13 Sexual Assault Programs. The representatives of each of the 13 Sexual Assault Programs make up KASAP's Board of Directors. Since it was established in 1990, KASAP has served as a central point of contact on sexual violence issues in Kentucky. KASAP DOES NOT PROVIDE CRISIS SERVICES. If you or someone you know is in danger, PLEASE seek safety. For advocacy, counseling and referrals, find your local sexual assault program or contact the national RAINN hotline at 1-800-656-HOPE." (About Us")

Kentucky Coalition Against Domestic Violence (KCADV)

"The Kentucky Coalition Against Domestic Violence (KCADV) provides a strong, statewide voice on behalf of survivors and their children. KCADV administers $13 million in state and federal funds to its 15 member programs, runs a Certification Program for all domestic violence program staff including 30 hours of classroom instruction, and operates an Economic Empowerment Program serving survivors across the state. KCADV also advocates on domestic violence-related issues at the state and federal levels, coordinates an annual conference with the Kentucky Association of Sexual Assault programs, and provides resources, training, and technical assistance to its member programs." ("About Us")

Love is Respect

"A project of the National Domestic Violence Hotline, love is respect offers 24/7 information, support, and advocacy to young people between the ages of 13 and 26 who have questions or concerns about their romantic relationships. We also provide support to concerned friends and family members, teachers, counselors, and other service providers through the same free and confidential services via phone, text, and live chat. We aim to be a safe and inclusive space for young people to access help and information in a setting specifically for them. We provide comprehensive education through resources including quizzes, interactive pages, and testimonials, as well as training, toolkits, and curriculum for educators, peers, and parents to promote healthy relationships and prevent future abuse." ("About")

National Coalition Against Domestic Violence

"Our mission is to lead, mobilize and raise our voices to support efforts that demand a change of conditions that lead to domestic violence such as patriarchy, privilege, racism, sexism, and classism. We are dedicated to supporting survivors and holding offenders accountable and supporting advocates." ("About Us")

National Domestic Violence Hotline

"24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year, the National Domestic Violence Hotline provides essential tools and support to help survivors of domestic violence so they can live their lives free of abuse. Contacts to The Hotline can expect highly-trained, expert advocates to offer free, confidential, and compassionate support, crisis intervention information, education, and referral services in over 200 languages." ("About the Hotline")

New Beginnings

"New Beginnings offers confidential crisis and long-term therapy services to sexual assault survivors of all ages, as well as their family and friends. Services are available regardless if the assault was committed today or decades ago. We encourage those who are minorities, LGBTQIA, those with disabilities and other special populations to reach out to us for assistance. We welcome anyone who has been a victim of sexual violence and want to help you live your best life.
In addition, we offer a wide array of preventative and informational programs to help men, women and children rise above sexual victimization. We have begun to focus more on prevention programming and currently employ three prevention educators that work with K-12 students." ("Who We Are")

Oasis Shelter

"OASIS women’s shelter is a Domestic Violence Program for battered women and their dependent children. OASIS addresses the unique needs of victims of domestic violence trapped in the cycle of violence.
Located in Owensboro, Kentucky, and built on the “Empowerment Model”, OASIS provides a safe place for women and their children to escape the trauma and devastation of domestic violence." ("Recovery is Possible")

Ohio Domestic Violence Network (ODVN)

"The Ohio Domestic Violence Network (ODVN) believes that ending violence against women and children requires a connection with organizations and individuals to create a clear vision and collective voice for social and systemic change." ("About Us")

SPARC

"The Stalking Prevention, Awareness, & Resource Center (SPARC) is a federally funded project providing education and resources about the crime of stalking. SPARC aims to enhance the response to stalking by educating the professionals tasked with keeping stalking victims safe and holding offenders accountable. SPARC ensures that allied professionals have the specialized knowledge to identify and respond to the crime of stalking." (Mission")