LibGuides: Virtual Displays: Dating Violence Awareness Month February 2022

What is Dating Violence?

Types of Domestic Violence (via Opposing Viewpoints: Domestic Violence)

Victim assistance agencies acknowledge many different forms of intimate partner violence, including physical, sexual, and emotional or psychological abuse. Physical abuse encompasses not only contact violence, but also verbal threats and other intimidating behaviors such as throwing objects and destroying possessions. Unwanted verbal, physical, and suggested sexual contact, including coercion, assault, and rape, within the confines of an intimate relationship are forms of sexual abuse.
Teen dating violence, which is intimate partner violence among youth in close relationships, has emerged as a concern as well. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), in 2018 about 9 percent of female and 7 percent of male high school students had been physically abused by an intimate partner in the previous year. Furthermore, a 2019 study published in JAMA Pediatrics found that 7 percent of 11- to 18-year-olds murdered in the United States between 2003 and 2016 were killed by former or current romantic partners. The average age of these intimate partner homicide victims was 16.8 years old, and 90 percent were girls.

If you are in crisis and need to speak with a counselor immediately please contact:

Domestic Violence Hotline: (800) 799-SAFE (7233)

OR text "START" to 88788

New Beginnings 24 Hour Crisis Line: (800) 226-7273

Oasis Women's Shelter toll free: (800) 882-2873

- - -

In the case of an emergency, call 9-1-1 or go to your nearest emergency room

- - -

A special thanks to Terri for helping us gather resources for this LibGuide!

Domestic Violence by Jerry L. Johnson; George Grant
Call Number: 362.8292 D669
ISBN: 9780205389520
Publication Date: 2004-10-11
Each title in the Allyn & Bacon Johnson & Grant Casebook Series presents three to four in-depth cases in a different topic area, prefaced by an introduction to generalist social work practice. Allyn & Bacon Casebook Series for Domestic Violence, First Edition by Jerry Johnson and George Grant provides students with personal and intimate glimpses into the thinking and actions of experienced practitioners working with clients coping with domestic violence. The contributors to this casebook combined many decades of social work experience and teaching to create a one-of-a-kind tool for students to study and analyze how practitioners think about practice.
Dynamics of Family and Intimate Partner Violence by Irene Hanson Frieze, Christina E Newhill, Rachel Fusco
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9783030426088
Publication Date: 2020
This book provides a research-based analysis of the dynamics of several types of violence in families and close relationships, as well as a discussion of theories relating to the experiences of victims. Drawing on recent research data and case studies from their own clinical experiences, the authors examine causes, experiences, and interventions related to violence in various forms of relationships including children, elders, and dating or married couples.
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence by Nicky Ali Jackson (Editor)
Call Number: Ref 362.8292 E56
ISBN: 9780415642217
Publication Date: 2015-08-24
The Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence is a modern reference from the leading international scholars in domestic violence research. This ground-breaking project has created the first ever publication of an encyclopedia of domestic violence. The primary goal of the Encyclopedia is to provide information on a variety of traditional, as well as breakthrough, issues in this complex phenomenon. The coverage of the Encyclopedia is broad and diverse, encompassing the entire life span from infancy to old age.
Journeys by Susan L. Miller
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780520961463
Publication Date: 2018-04-20
More than one in three women in the United States has experienced rape, physical violence, or stalking by an intimate partner in their lifetime. Luckily, many are able to escape this life--but what happens to them after? Journeys focuses on the desperately understudied topic of the resiliency of long-term (over 5 years) survivors of intimate partner violence and abuse. Drawing on participant observation research and interviews with women years after the end of their abusive relationships,
The Man Brand by Jean Jaymes West
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781536133028
Publication Date: 2018
This book explores public perceptions, often reinforced by public service advertising campaigns, of stereotypes tied to violence--which frequently portray men only as the aggressor, the abuser, or the perpetrator, and women only as vulnerable, helpless victims. What is even more disturbing is that research suggests that the abuse of men is often viewed by the public as a "joke." It is hard for the public and law enforcement to perceive of males as "victims," as that is not part of the public perception of the "man brand." This research investigates exactly what that public perception of the "man brand" is--and why public beliefs tied to gender stereotypes might be inaccurate--as well as what hinders a full understanding and public acknowledgement of the true nature of that "brand." This work takes a progressive first step in expanding a complete understanding of what reinforces stereotypes tied to gender and intimate partner violence. (Nova)
Violence Against Women and Children by Jacquelyn W. White (Editor); Mary P. Koss (Editor); Alan E. Kazdin (Editor)
Call Number: 362.8292 V795
ISBN: 9781433809125
Publication Date: 2010-12-15
Child abuse, sexual and domestic violence are among the most destructive experiences afflicting women and children. The wide prevalence of such violence takes an enormous toll on the lives of individual victims as well as the larger society, through innumerable behavioral, health, psychological, and economic consequences. While many groups, organizations, and government agencies have been established to identify, prevent, and treat such violence, our response to these problems has been piecemeal and not optimally successful.

Applying Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy to Help Survivors of Dating Violence: A Pilot Study
- by Stefanus Perangin-Angin, Sutarto Wijono, and Arianti Ina Restiani Hunga
- Published in 2021
- DOI: https://doi.org/10.22146/jpsi.56023
- Research from National Commission on Elimination of Violence against Women found that dating violence was ranked second after domestic violence in terms of number of cases reported in 2018 in Indonesia. Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) was one of the consequences that dating violence survivors experienced. Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (CBT) had been proven effective to treat PTSD in intimate partner violence survivors. However, there was no prior research publication investigating the effectiveness of CBT for dating violence survivors in Indonesia. This research aimed to apply CBT to help treating PTSD symptoms in women with dating violence experiences.
Does change in perceptions of peer teen dating violence predict change in teen dating violence perpetration over time?
- by Ryan C Shorey, Brian Wymbs, Liz Torres, Joseph R Cohen, Paula J Fite, and Jeff R Temple
- Published in 2018
- DOI: 10.1002/ab.21739
- Research has previously demonstrated that perceptions of peer's teen dating violence (TDV) is associated with one's own perpetration of TDV, although little research has examined whether this relationship is consistent across developmental time periods (i.e., mid-to-late adolescence). The present study examined whether changes in perceptions of peer's TDV predicted change in one's own perpetration of TDV in a sample of ethnically diverse adolescents from ages 15 to 18.

The Role of Acceptance of Violence Beliefs and Social Information Processing on Dating Violence Perpetration.
- by Fernández-González L., Calvete E, and Orue I
- Published in 2019
- DOI: 10.1111/jora.12414
- This study's main objective was to explore whether beliefs legitimizing dating violence predict dysfunctional social information processing (SIP) when adolescents deal with ambiguous dating situations, and whether this more proximal cognitive processing acts as a mediator between acceptance of violence beliefs and dating violence perpetration. Participants were 855 high school students who completed self-report measures at three time points, with a 1-year interval between them. SIP did not act as a mediator, but the emergence of anger emotions in dating conflict situations, along with aggression-justifying beliefs, were revealed as essential in explaining dating violence. Previous aggression also explained a subsequent higher anticipation of positive consequences for aggressive acts. We discuss the implications for prevention and treatment strategies with adolescents.

Understanding the Role of Technology in Adolescent Dating and Dating Violence
- by Charlene K Baker and Patricia K Carreño
- Published in 2016
- DOI: 10.1007/s10826-015-0196-5
- A significant part of an adolescent’s day includes the use of technology, such as cell phone calls, instant messaging, and posts to social networking sites. Although studies have documented the benefits of technology use, there are significant downsides as well. For example, recent studies have shown that adolescents use technology to harass and abuse others, including dating partners. However, questions remain on how technology use and dating violence intersect at different stages in the couple’s relationship and whether this intersection is different for boys and girls. This article begins to fill these gaps by presenting the findings from focus groups with 39 high school aged adolescents, all of whom had experienced a problematic relationship in the past year. Results showed that adolescents used technology to initiate and dissolve dating relationships, often with text messages or posts to social networking sites. Technology use also caused jealousy, and it was used to monitor and isolate partners from others. Gender differences in the use of technology are highlighted. Finally, recommendations for prevention programs for adolescents and parents are discussed.

Local resources:

OASIS

non-residential/non-shelter services 270-685-5271

residential shelter 270-685-0260

toll free 800-882-2873

State resource:

Kentucky Coalition Against Domestic Violence

502-209-5382

National resources:

Love Is Respect

866-331-9474 or text LOVEIS to 22522 - National Teen Dating Abuse Hotline (up through age 18)  

National Domestic Violence Hotline