Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this page...
This page provides links to library subscription databases. These databases provide access to articles published in several sources such as business journals, newspapers, magazines, and books.
Also, Consider this...
While it is possible to use search engines such as Google, for your article review, the sources you will find in the databases on this page have been published. This gives your sources added credibility; in addition, they provide current and authoritative sources of research information.
- Start with a couple of terms
- Review the article for additional terms
- Try several databases
InterLibrary Loan - Articles
Can’t find what you need in our library? View the journal holdings of other Owensboro libraries. If another library has the article you can go there and make a copy.
If an article is not available at a local library, we’ll gladly try to borrow it from another library for you. Click on the links below.
Email questions about interlibrary loan.
Find Articles, Background Information, Books
The following are great databases to get started with your research papers and reports:
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
The industry’s most-used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, covering all business disciplines. It offers full text dating back to 1886, and searchable cited references dating to 1998. BSP’s additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
- Why search here?
The database includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, ecology biology, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
- What's included?
JSTOR provides full text and bibliographic access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources.
Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
World News Digest
- Why search here?
World News Digest is a go-to resource for context and background on key issues and events in the news.
- What's included?
This database provides overviews of historic events, country profiles, historical documents, biographies, research features, special reports, editorials, and editorial cartoons.
The library subscribes to the online editions of numerous encyclopedias. These provide you articles with reliable background information about your topics, written by experts in the subject areas. These are more authoritative and reliable than Wikipedia!
Locate a Journal
Looking for a particular journal? Click on the link above to search and find all journals that are available here at the library or to link to those available in our online databases.
If you don't find the journal listed, please inquire about InterLibrary Loan.
Country and People Research
Use CountryWatch for information on the business and economy of countries of the world.
Use Biography Reference Bank for information on prominent business leaders, past and present.
Browse Business Administration Journals
Recommended Business Reference Books
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries in Print are located in the Reference Room, main floor of the library.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management by
Call Number: 658.03 B632
Dictionary of Business by
Call Number: 650.03 C699 2001
Encyclopedia of globalization by
Call Number: 327.1 E56
Going global : an information sourcebook for small and medium-sized businesses by
Call Number: 658.84 A966
Successful business research : straight to the numbers you need-- fast! by
Call Number: 650.072 A161