Background information is an:
Overview or concise summary of a topic usually found in an encyclopedia or subject dictionary.
Use to find explanations, definitions, names, places, events, and keywords related to that topic to help you in your research. Using a reference resource in your research is especially useful at the beginning of a project.
Oxford Reference Online comprises well over one million dictionary definitions, facts, figures, people, places, sayings, and dates from 100 of Oxford's central English and bilingual dictionaries, usage, quotations, and subject reference books all combined to create one integrated knowledge resource.
A Dictionary of Business and Management by 
A Dictionary of Human Resource Management by 
A Dictionary of Economics by 
A Dictionary of Finance and Banking by Encyclopedias and Dictionaries in Print are located in the Reference Room, main floor of the library.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management by 
Concise Encyclopedia of Economics by 
Dictionary of Business by 
Encyclopedia of globalization by 
Going global : an information sourcebook for small and medium-sized businesses by 
Successful business research : straight to the numbers you need-- fast! by Google Scholar is a freely-accessible Web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Below are the Dewey Decimal Call numbers for Business:
651 Office services
652 Processes of written communication
653 Shorthand
657 Accounting
658 General management
659 Advertising and public relations
