LibGuides: Music Research Guide: Start Here

Library Director

Sr. Judith Nell Riney

Email Me

Contact:

270.686.4288

Featured Resources

Music by Eugene Beresin
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2022-10-24
Music is an art form but also a social activity. It is a part of every human society, contributing to community, culture, and a sense of group identity. It is also fundamental to individual identity and personal well-being. In Music, Eugene Beresin traces the possible applications of musical expression for human health and happiness.
Music in Evolution and Evolution in Music by Steven Jan
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2022
Music in Evolution and Evolution in Music by Steven Jan is a comprehensive account of the relationships between evolutionary theory and music. Examining the 'evolutionary algorithm' that drives biological and musical-cultural evolution, the book provides a distinctive commentary on how musicality and music can shed light on our understanding of Darwin's famous theory, and vice-versa.
Black Country Music by Francesca T. Royster
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Publication Date: 2022-10-04
After a century of racist whitewashing, country music is finally reckoning with its relationship to Black people. In this timely work—the first book on Black country music by a Black writer—Francesca Royster uncovers the Black performers and fans, including herself, who are exploring the pleasures and possibilities of the genre. Informed by queer theory and Black feminist scholarship, Royster's book elucidates the roots of the current moment found in records like Tina Turner's first solo album, Tina Turns the Country On! She reckons with Black “bros” Charley Pride and Darius Rucker, then chases ghosts into the future with Valerie June.
American Song and Struggle from Columbus to World War 2 by William Kaufman
Call Number: Stacks 306.484 K21 (Room 120, Ground Floor)
Publication Date: 2022-08-18
Long before anyone ever heard of "protest music", people in America were singing about their struggles. They sang for justice and fairness, food and shelter, and equality and freedom; they sang to be acknowledged. Sometimes they also sang to oppress. This book uncovers the history of these people and their songs, from the moment Columbus made fateful landfall to the start of World War II, when "protest music" emerged as an identifiable brand.
On Music Theory, and Making Music More Welcoming for Everyone by Philip Ewell
Call Number: Stacks 781.0973 E95 (Reference Room, Main Floor)
Publication Date: 2023-04-30
Since its inception in the mid-twentieth century, American music theory has been framed and taught almost exclusively by white men. As a result, whiteness and maleness are woven into the fabric of the field, and BIPOC music theorists face enormous hurdles due to their racial identities. In On Music Theory, Philip Ewell brings together autobiography, music theory and history, and theory and history of race in the United States to offer a black perspective on the state of music theory and to confront the field's white supremacist roots.
Classical Music Futures by Neil Thomas Smith (Editor); Peter Peters (Editor); Karoly Molina (Editor)
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2024-01-30
This volume brings together contributions from a wide range of international academics and practitioners. It traces innovations within classical music practice, showing how these offer divergent visions for its future. The interdisciplinary contributions to the volume highlight the way contrasting ideas of the future can effect change in the present. A rich balance of theoretical and practical discussion brings authority to this collection, which lays the foundations for timely responses to challenges ranging from the concept of the musical work, and the colonial values within Western musical culture, to unsustainable models of orchestral touring.

Best Bets

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more on a variety of subject areas.
- What's included?
  The database features thousands of full-text articles and citations from scholarly and non-scholarly journals going back as far as the late 1800s, with the majority of full text titles in PDF format.
Arts & Sciences I (JSTOR Collection)
- Why search here?
  The arts and sciences collection provides core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
- What's included?
  JSTOR provides full text and bibliographic access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources.
MasterFILE Premier & MasterFile Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  MasterFILE Premier and Reference eBook Collection contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues.
- What's included?
  Designed specifically for public libraries, these databases provide full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. They also include an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
Oxford Reference
- Why search here?
  Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
- What's included?
  As you browse through Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. The collections include in-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Press’s award-winning Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of partner publishers’ scholarly works.

Browse for journals available in the library on:

Music

Leading Professional Organization Journals Available Through the Library

Music Analysis
Concerned with music theory, critical theory, music history and the cognitive sciences. Journal of the Society for Music Analysis.
Journal of the Royal Music Association
Covers historical musicology & ethnomusicology, theory & analysis, textual criticism, archival research, organology, & performing practice.
American Music Teacher
Provides articles, reviews and regular columns that inform, educate and challenge music teachers and foster excellence in the music teaching profession. Journal of the Music Teachers National Association (MTNA).

Open Access Journals - scholarly research freely available on the web.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - Music
Includes 34 journals belonging to the subject of Music.
Journal of Music and Meaning
JMM: The Journal of Music and Meaning is an on-line peer-reviewed journal for multidisciplinary research on music and meaning.
Journal of Seventeenth-Century Music (JSCM)
The Journal of Seventeenth-Century Music (JSCM) is published by the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music to provide a refereed forum for scholarly studies of the musical cultures of the seventeenth century. These include historical and archival studies, performance practice, music theory, aesthetics, dance, and theater. JSCM also publishes critical reviews and summary listings of recently published books, scores, and electronic media.
Open Access Music Journals
This list of open access music journals was compiled by the University of Michigan Library.

Films on Demand - Music & Dance Videos

Music CDs Available at the Library

Live at the Ryman: Bluegrass Legends (CD) by Various Artists
Call Number: CD 781.642 V768 (Main Floor)
Bluegrass Power Picks by Red Smiley
Call Number: CD 781.642 S641 (Main Floor)
ISBN: B07HGBDP4C
This 3 CD set contains 61 original recordings from three classics albums recorded in the 60's by Bluegrass Legend Red Smiley... It's some of the best sounding bluegrass and old-time country classics available and a good place to start for a new Bluegrass fan and has all the important songs for the most seasoned Bluegrass Lover.
Our Kind of Country (CD) by Jim & Jesse with the Opry Stage Band
Call Number: CD 781.642 J61 (Main Floor)
Bluegrass American Classics (CD) by Tennessee River Authority
Call Number: CD 781.642 T297 (Main Floor)

DVDs Available at the Library

Country Music (DVD) by Ken Burns
Call Number: DVD 781.6420973 C856 (Main Floor)
ISBN: 9781531709792
Ken Burns chronicles the history of a uniquely American art form, rising from the experiences of remarkable people in distinctive regions of the nation.
High Lonesome: the story of bluegrass music
Call Number: DVD 784.52 H638 (Main Floor)
This 95 minute DVD feature film traces the evolution, from folk roots in the Kentucky hills through innovations which shaped modern forms. Over 100 songs by Bill Monroe, Stanle y Brothers, Mac Wiseman, Jimmy Martin, Flatt & Scruggs, Osb ourne Brothers.
Coda
Call Number: DVD 791.4372 C669 (Main Floor)
A famous pianist struggling with stage fright late in his career finds inspiration with a free-spirited music critic.
Elvis
Call Number: DVD 791.4372 E52
Publication Date: 2022
Elvis Presley rises to fame in the 1950s while maintaining a complex relationship with his manager, Colonel Tom Parker.

Biographies & Encyclopedias

Britannica Online
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Britannica Academic includes the essentials for conducting thorough research all in one site and delivers fast and easy access to trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
- What's included?
  This online encyclopedia includes over 100,000 articles plus an expansive collection of multimedia including images, videos, audio, interactives, and infographics.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia has over 25,000 easy-to-read encyclopedia articles for covering an array of topics. The information is updated annually.
- What's included?
  The database contains images, indexes, and brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

eBook Collections

eBooks (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
- What's included?
  EBSCO eBooks provides full text for thousands of up-to-date reference, scholarly, and professional books.

Additional Databases

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
- Why search here?
  The Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years: The American Archive of Public Broadcasting. The American Archive will ensure that this rich source for American political, social, and cultural history and creativity will be saved and made available once again to future generations.
- What's included?
  The collection of 40,000 hours contains thousands of high quality programs that have had national impact. The vast majority of this initial American Archive content, however, consists of regional and local programs that document American communities during the last half of the twentieth century and the first decade of the twenty-first. This extraordinary collection includes local news and public affairs programs, local history productions that document the heritage of local communities, and programs dealing with education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion, and even filmmaking on a local level.
Learning Cloud Professional Development & Training Solution
- Why search here?
  Learn advanced skills, prepare for new positions or careers, share concepts and ideas with groups or train your students, teammates or colleagues, and earn CEU credits.
- What's included?
  Dive into more than 80,000 microlearning videos and hundreds of professionally developed courses designed to help you master new skills, practice concepts, share ideas, and assess learning.
Learning Express Library
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This e-resource supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass the GED®, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.
- What's included?
  This flagship LearningExpress product offers a comprehensive selection of interactive online tutorials, practice tests, articles, e-books and high-stakes test preparation.
OpenDissertations (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  EBSCO Open Dissertations includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations and was built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
- What's included?
  Open Dissertations is a free database with records for more than 1.4 million electronic theses and dissertations from more than 320 universities around the world.
TOPICsearch (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Teachers, librarians and student researchers can use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.
- What's included?
  TOPICsearch provides biographies, book reviews, government information, periodicals, public opinion polls, and international newspapers.

Brescia University’s library staff are happy to assist you in finding the exact book, article (i.e. journal article or book chapter), or audio/visual you need through our Interlibrary Loan exchange. Use the links at the bottom to get the process started.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service provided By Fr. Leonard Alvey Library for current Brescia faculty, staff, and students.

Submitting Requests

Through our online catalog, or
Through an Ebsco database (articles only), or
Through our Journal Finder service (articles only), or
Through the appropriate link at the bottom, or
Through email: illoan@brescia.edu, or
Through a paper form at the circulation desk

Your current Brescia ID allows you borrowing privileges at area Owensboro libraries (Daviess County Public Library, Kentucky Wesleyan College, and Owensboro Community and Technical College). If the item you need is available at one of these local libraries, you are encouraged to check it out from there.

Arrival/Pickup of Request

Email notification of item's arrival (Brescia email addresses only)
Check out returnable ILL items at the circulation desk with current Brescia ID card
PDFs or photocopied items will be sent via Brescia email only

Disclaimer: Fr. Leonard Alvey Library cannot guarantee that items requested via ILL will arrive in a timely fashion. The late arrival of items is usually due to circumstances out of the Fr. Leonard Alvey Library's control (i.e. courier delay, network failure, lost mail, etc.).

Book Request

Article/Chapter Request

Audio/Visual Request

Renewal Request

Music Research Guide: Start Here

Click here to access current Outstanding Academic Titles for Music

Library Director

Featured Resources

Submitting Requests

Arrival/Pickup of Request