Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Our library catalog will find articles, books, videos, and more at Brescia and worldwide.
American Memory Performing Arts and Music Collections
Over thirty collections from the American Memory project of the Library of Congress, including the Leonard Bernstein Collection, Aaron Copland, and Irving Fine collections, Southern Appalachian fiddle music, folk music from the Dust Bowl, and several large collections of nineteenth-century sheet music, among many others
Bodleian Library Broadside Ballads
Broadside ballads: songs that were published in Britain on single sheets (broadsides) from the sixteenth through the early twentieth centuries. This database provides bibliographic access via a searchable Web database to 30,000 of the ballads, along with digitized images of each ballad sheet.
Choral Public Domain Library
Here you will find free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.
Encyclopedic Discography of Victor Recordings
Users of the Encyclopedic Discography of Victor Recordings, funded by the National Endowment for the Arts, can now listen to recordings from more than 10,000 takes listed in the discography. The discography is an index to master recordings (matrixes) and published discs made by the Victor Talking Machine Company beginning in 1900.
Presently, the Jukebox includes acoustically recorded Victor recordings made between 1900 and 1925. Approximately 1,000 new master recordings are added to the database monthly and the database will eventually extend to the end of the 78rpm era in the early 1950s.
Sibley Music Library: Musical Scores
Other websites offer digitized scores, but this site is unique because of its size and ease of use and because its content is free. A vital resource for users at all levels and around the world, this site exemplifies the Internet at its best.
Aaron Copland Collection
The Copland collection now comprises approximately 400,000 items, from which about 1,000 have been selected for digitization and inclusion in this inaugural online collection.
An extensive list of articles about Bach and his works.
Ludwig Van Beethoven: The Magnificent Master
Site includes a biography, lists of his works, a large gallery of pictures, reviews of his work by Beethoven's contemporaries as well as more modern musicians and music critics and much more.
Music History 102
A Guide to Western Composers and their Music
from the Middle Ages to the Present
The National Jukebox from the Library of Congress
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
Created by NPR, you can listen to either of two playlists of the day.