LibGuides: Philosophy Research Guide: Start Here

Sarah Cox

Email Me

Contact:

Public Services Manager
Fr. Leonard Alvey Library

270-686-4212

Featured Resources

Anaximander by Carlo Rovelli
Call Number: Stacks 182 R873 (Room 120, Ground Floor)
Publication Date: 2023-02-28
The bestselling author of Seven Brief Lessons on Physics illuminates the nature of science through the revolutionary ideas of the Greek philosopher Anaximander Over two millennia ago, the prescient insights of Anaximander paved the way for cosmology, physics, geography, meteorology, and biology, setting in motion a new way of seeing the world.
War Is Hell by Charles Douglas Lummis
Call Number: Stacks 172.42 L958 (Room 120, Ground Floor)
Publication Date: 2023-03-16
War is Hell is a study of the philosophy of war and peace, ranging critically from ancient peace thinking to today. The author uses a Socratic method, focused on political philosophy rather than on cultural or psychological aspects of war and peace making. The book is not a treatise on ethics, but rather an analysis of some aspects of the nature of war and peace. This book is a study of war - and by extension, peace - from the standpoint of political theory. For all those who think there is too much war, and to deal with that we need to search for new ways of thinking.
The Case Against Death by Ingemar Patrick Linden
Call Number: Stacks 128.5 L744 (Room 120, Ground Floor)
Publication Date: 2022-02-01
Linden examines the views of major philosophical voices of the past, whom he calls 'death's ardent advocates.' These include the Buddha, Socrates, Plato, Lucretius, and Montaigne. All have taught what he calls 'the Wise View,' namely, that we should not fear death. After setting out his case against death, Linden systematically examines each of the accepted arguments for death--that aging and death are natural, that death is harmless, that life is overrated, that living longer would be boring, and that death saves us from overpopulation.
Wonderstruck by Helen De Cruz
Call Number: EBSCO ebook
Publication Date: 2024-03-26
Wonder and awe lie at the heart of life's most profound questions. Wonderstruck shows how these emotions respond to our fundamental need to make sense of ourselves and everything around us, and how they enable us to engage with the world as if we are experiencing it for the first time.Drawing on the latest psychological insights on emotions, Helen De Cruz argues that wonder and awe are emotional drives that motivate us to inquire and discover new things, and that humanity has deliberately nurtured these emotions in cultural domains such as religion, science, and magic.
Aesthetics in Grief and Mourning by Kathleen Marie Higgins
Call Number: EBSCO ebook
Publication Date: 2024-03-06
A philosophical exploration of aesthetic experience during bereavement. In Aesthetics of Grief and Mourning, philosopher Kathleen Marie Higgins reflects on the ways that aesthetics aids people experiencing loss. Some practices related to bereavement, such as funerals, are scripted, but many others are recursive, improvisational, mundane--telling stories, listening to music, and reflecting on art or literature. Higgins shows how these grounding, aesthetic practices can ease the disorienting effects of loss, shedding new light on the importance of aesthetics for personal and communal flourishing.
Movements of the Mind by Wayne Wu
Call Number: EBSCO ebook
Publication Date: 2023-09-01
Movements of the Mind is about what it is to be an agent. Focusing on mental agency, it integrates multiple approaches, from philosophical analysis of the metaphysics of agency to the activity of neurons in the brain. Philosophical and empirical work are combined to generate concrete explanations of key features of the mind.
Aristotle's Discovery of the Human by Mary P. Nichols
Call Number: Stacks 171.3 N616 (Room 120, Ground Floor)
Publication Date: 2023-07-15
Aristotle's Discovery of the Human offers a fresh, illuminating, and accessible analysis of one of the Western philosophical tradition's most important texts. In Aristotle's Discovery of the Human, noted political theorist Mary P. Nichols explores the ways in which Aristotle brings the gods and the divine into his "philosophizing about human affairs" in his Nicomachean Ethics. Her analysis shows that, for Aristotle, both piety and politics are central to a flourishing human life

Best Bets

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more on a variety of subject areas.
- What's included?
  The database features thousands of full-text articles and citations from scholarly and non-scholarly journals going back as far as the late 1800s, with the majority of full text titles in PDF format.
Arts & Sciences I (JSTOR Collection)
- Why search here?
  The arts and sciences collection provides core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
- What's included?
  JSTOR provides full text and bibliographic access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources.
MasterFILE Premier & MasterFile Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  MasterFILE Premier and Reference eBook Collection contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues.
- What's included?
  Designed specifically for public libraries, these databases provide full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. They also include an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
Oxford Reference
- Why search here?
  Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
- What's included?
  As you browse through Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. The collections include in-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Press’s award-winning Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of partner publishers’ scholarly works.

Still Searching? Try these: Additional Philosophy Databases

Need help using our databases? You may view a database specific tutorial video found on the tutorial tab.

Browse for journals available in the library on:

Open Access Journals - scholarly research freely available on the web.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Philosophy
Browse for open access journals related to philosophy.

Films on Demand - Philosophy

Edith Stein: the seventh chamber
Call Number: DVD 271.971 S819 (Main Floor)
This is a moving, artistic portrayal of the life of Jewish philosopher, Catholic convert and Carmelite martyr, Edith Stein, capturing the interior struggles of this extraordinary woman, as well as the great conflicts from her decision to convert to Catholicism.
Cosmic Origins
Call Number: DVD 215 C835
Executive Producer Fr. Robert J. Spitzer, S.J., Ph.D., is a philosopher, educator, author and former President of Gonzaga University. This fascinating film features Fr. Spitzer and a group of physicists and academic heavyweights exploring modern scientific theories about how the universe came to exist.
The Greeks: crucible of civilization
Call Number: DVD 938 G794
Views the rise and fall of ancient Greece through the eyes of prominent figures of the times, including Cleisthenes, Themistocles, Pericles, and Socrates.

Biographies & Encyclopedias

Britannica Online
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Britannica Academic includes the essentials for conducting thorough research all in one site and delivers fast and easy access to trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
- What's included?
  This online encyclopedia includes over 100,000 articles plus an expansive collection of multimedia including images, videos, audio, interactives, and infographics.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia has over 25,000 easy-to-read encyclopedia articles for covering an array of topics. The information is updated annually.
- What's included?
  The database contains images, indexes, and brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

eBook Collections

eBooks (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
- What's included?
  EBSCO eBooks provides full text for thousands of up-to-date reference, scholarly, and professional books.
JSTOR
Includes core journals and eBooks in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.

World News & Newspapers

Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
- What's included?
  Content includes more than 200 full-text national (U.S.) and international newspapers, more than 310 full-text regional (U.S.) newspapers, and complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.
Newswires (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.
- What's included?
  Newswires is a full-text database of news articles.

Additional Databases

Learning Cloud Professional Development & Training Solution
- Why search here?
  Learn advanced skills, prepare for new positions or careers, share concepts and ideas with groups or train your students, teammates or colleagues, and earn CEU credits.
- What's included?
  Dive into more than 80,000 microlearning videos and hundreds of professionally developed courses designed to help you master new skills, practice concepts, share ideas, and assess learning.
Learning Express Library
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This e-resource supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass the GED®, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.
- What's included?
  This flagship LearningExpress product offers a comprehensive selection of interactive online tutorials, practice tests, articles, e-books and high-stakes test preparation.
OpenDissertations (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  EBSCO Open Dissertations includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations and was built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
- What's included?
  Open Dissertations is a free database with records for more than 1.4 million electronic theses and dissertations from more than 320 universities around the world.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Gale's Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
- What's included?
  Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.
TOPICsearch (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Teachers, librarians and student researchers can use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.
- What's included?
  TOPICsearch provides biographies, book reviews, government information, periodicals, public opinion polls, and international newspapers.

Brescia University’s library staff are happy to assist you in finding the exact book, article (i.e. journal article or book chapter), or audio/visual you need through our Interlibrary Loan exchange. Use the links at the bottom to get the process started.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service provided By Fr. Leonard Alvey Library for current Brescia faculty, staff, and students.

Submitting Requests

Through our online catalog, or
Through an Ebsco database (articles only), or
Through our Journal Finder service (articles only), or
Through the appropriate link at the bottom, or
Through email: illoan@brescia.edu, or
Through a paper form at the circulation desk

Your current Brescia ID allows you borrowing privileges at area Owensboro libraries (Daviess County Public Library, Kentucky Wesleyan College, and Owensboro Community and Technical College). If the item you need is available at one of these local libraries, you are encouraged to check it out from there.

Arrival/Pickup of Request

Email notification of item's arrival (Brescia email addresses only)
Check out returnable ILL items at the circulation desk with current Brescia ID card
PDFs or photocopied items will be sent via Brescia email only

Disclaimer: Fr. Leonard Alvey Library cannot guarantee that items requested via ILL will arrive in a timely fashion. The late arrival of items is usually due to circumstances out of the Fr. Leonard Alvey Library's control (i.e. courier delay, network failure, lost mail, etc.).

Book Request

Article/Chapter Request

Audio/Visual Request

Renewal Request

Philosophy Research Guide: Start Here

Click here to access current Outstanding Philosophy Academic Titles

Featured Resources

Submitting Requests

Arrival/Pickup of Request