LibGuides: Medical Technology Research Guide: Start Here

Assistant Librarian

Maura O'Donoghue

Email Me

Contact:

Assistant Librarian
Fr. Leonard Alvey Library

270-686-4213 (Office)

Featured Resources

The Song of the Cell by Siddhartha Mukherjee
Call Number: Stacks 574.87 M954 (Room 120, Ground Floor)
Publication Date: 2023-10-24
In The Song of the Cell, Mukherjee tells the story of how scientists discovered cells, began to understand them, and are now using that knowledge to create new humans. He seduces you with writing so vivid, lucid, and suspenseful that complex science becomes thrilling. Told in six parts, laced with Mukherjee's own experience as a researcher, a doctor, and a prolific reader, The Song of the Cell is both panoramic and intimate-a masterpiece.
The Washington Manual Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology Subspecialty Consult by Andrew KAU; Jennifer Marie Monroy; Brooke Ivan Polk; Christopher J. Rigell
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2022
Prepared by specialty residents, fellows and staff in the Department of Medicine at Washington University School of Medicine, and reviewed by attending physicians in each field-each volume in this renowned series delivers the on-thespot help you need to provide quality patient management. Right from the initial chapter, you'll learn how to take a patient history, how to interpret exam findings, what tests to order, how to complete the workup, and how to formulate an effective management plan.
An Editor's Guide to Writing and Publishing Science by Michael Hochberg
Call Number: Stacks 808.066 H685 (Mezzanine, Top Floor)
A good research paper is more than just a clear, concise, scientific expose. It is a document that needs to go beyond the science to attract attention. Simply writing good, clear, concise, science is no longer enough-there is a different mind-set now required that students need to adopt if they are to succeed. The purpose of this book is to provide the foundations of this new approach for both young scientists at the start of their careers, as well as for more experienced scientists to teach the younger generation.
Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning in Health Care and Medical Sciences by Gyorgy J. Simon (Editor); Constantin Aliferis (Editor)
Call Number: Stacks 610.285 A791 (Reading Room, Main Floor)
Publication Date: 2024-03-05
This open access book provides a detailed review of the latest methods and applications of artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML) in medicine. With chapters focusing on enabling the reader to develop a thorough understanding of the key concepts in these subject areas along with a range of methods and resulting models that can be utilized to solve healthcare problems, the use of causal and predictive models are comprehensively discussed. Care is taken to systematically describe the concepts to facilitate the reader in developing a thorough conceptual understanding of how different methods and resulting models function and how these relate to their applicability to various issues in health care and medical sciences.
Ensuring an Effective Public Health Emergency Medical Countermeasures Enterprise by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; Health and Medicine Division; Board on Health Sciences Policy; Committee on Reviewing the Public Health Emergency Medical Countermeasures Enterprise
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Publication Date: 2022-01-21
The interagency group known as the Public Health Emergency Medical Countermeasures Enterprise (PHEMCE) is the nation's sole coordinating body, responsible for ensuring end-to-end MCM preparedness and response. Ensuring an Effective Public Health Emergency Medical Countermeasures Enterprise provides recommendations from an expert committee for a re-envisioned PHEMCE.
Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning in Health Care and Medical Sciences by Gyorgy J. Simon (Editor); Constantin Aliferis (Editor)
Call Number: Stacks 610.285 A791 (Reading Room, Main Floor)
Publication Date: 2024-03-05
Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning in Health Care and Medical Sciences: Best Practices and Pitfalls is a comprehensive guide to how AI and ML techniques can best be applied in health care. The emphasis placed on how to avoid a variety of pitfalls that can be encountered makes it an indispensable guide for all medical informatics professionals and physicians who utilize these methodologies on a day-to-day basis. Furthermore, this work will be of significant interest to health data scientists, administrators and to students in the health sciences seeking an up-to-date resource on the topic.

Best Bets

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more on a variety of subject areas.
- What's included?
  The database features thousands of full-text articles and citations from scholarly and non-scholarly journals going back as far as the late 1800s, with the majority of full text titles in PDF format.
Life Sciences (JSTOR Collection)
- Why search here?
  This collection provides extensive coverage in the field sciences, with great depth in botany, ecology, and ornithology, along with important titles in general science, medicine, nursing, epidemiology, and public health.
- What's included?
  JSTOR provides full text and bibliographic access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources.
CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- What's included?
  This valuable resource provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL Database.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This database covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.
- What's included?
  This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.
MasterFILE Premier & MasterFile Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  MasterFILE Premier and Reference eBook Collection contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues.
- What's included?
  Designed specifically for public libraries, these databases provide full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. They also include an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.

Need help using our databases? Try a video tutorial listed on the tutorial tab of this guide.

Browse for journals available in the library on:

Biology
Chemistry

Journals Available Through the LIbrary

Anatomy: International Journal of Experimental & Clinical Anatomy
Covers topics in anatomy such as experimental, functional & comparative anatomy, neuroanatomy, modern imaging techniques, molecular biology, cell biology and embryology & morphological studies of veterinary discipline.
Chemistry & Biology Interface
Covers topics in all areas of chemistry & biology, including medicinal chemistry, pharmaceuticals, nanotechnology, chemical biology, etc.
Chemistry Central Journal
Peer-reviewed coverage of research in all areas of chemistry, including analytical, biological, environmental, industrial, inorganic, organic, physical and theoretical chemistry as well as materials science.
Molecular Membrane Biology
Provides a forum for membrane researchers from diverse disciplines who have primary interest in the study of biomembranes at the molecular level.
Molecular Systems Biology
Publishes full-length papers and accompanying synopses describing original research in the field of molecular systems biology; it focuses on the analysis, integration and modeling of molecular and cellular phenomena.
Nature Chemistry
Peer-reviewed coverage of topics in analytical, inorganic, organic and physical chemistry as well as related fields.

Open Access Journals - scholarly research freely available on the web.

Anatomy and Cell Biology
Anatomy & Cell Biology is an international forum for multi-perspective discussion of all fields of anatomy, particularly the field of cell biology based on anatomy.
Chemistry & Biology
Chemistry & Biology publishes reports of novel investigations in all areas at the interface of chemistry and biology.
Molecular and Cellular Biology
Molecular and Cellular Biology® (MCB) is devoted to the advancement and dissemination of fundamental knowledge concerning the molecular biology of all eukaryotic cells.
Physiology
Physiology publishes focused review articles written by leaders in their fields. These articles are peer reviewed and highlight major cutting-edge advances in different fields of physiology.

Biographies & Encyclopedias

Britannica Online
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Britannica Academic includes the essentials for conducting thorough research all in one site and delivers fast and easy access to trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
- What's included?
  This online encyclopedia includes over 100,000 articles plus an expansive collection of multimedia including images, videos, audio, interactives, and infographics.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia has over 25,000 easy-to-read encyclopedia articles for covering an array of topics. The information is updated annually.
- What's included?
  The database contains images, indexes, and brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

eBook Collections

eBooks (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
- What's included?
  EBSCO eBooks provides full text for thousands of up-to-date reference, scholarly, and professional books.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
- Why search here?
  Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- What's included?
  Gale provides full text for reference, scholarly, and professional books.
Health (Salem Press)
Contains essays on all aspects of infectious diseases, including pathogens and pathogenicity, transmission, the immune system, vaccines, diagnosis, prevention, treatment, drug resistance, epidemiology, history, organizations, research, and social concerns such as aging, poverty and disease, children and disease, stress, quarantine, and bioterrorism.
Consumer Health Reference eBook Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This database covers a broad range of general health topics, including disease such as cancer and diabetes; weight management and exercise; allergies; senior care; social emotional health; developmental disorders; and natural health.
- What's included?
  Content from this database includes full-text e-books on health topics.

Additional Databases

ERIC (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
- What's included?
  ERIC contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
Learning Cloud Professional Development & Training Solution
- Why search here?
  Learn advanced skills, prepare for new positions or careers, share concepts and ideas with groups or train your students, teammates or colleagues, and earn CEU credits.
- What's included?
  Dive into more than 80,000 microlearning videos and hundreds of professionally developed courses designed to help you master new skills, practice concepts, share ideas, and assess learning.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Gale's Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
- What's included?
  Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.
TOPICsearch (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Teachers, librarians and student researchers can use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.
- What's included?
  TOPICsearch provides biographies, book reviews, government information, periodicals, public opinion polls, and international newspapers.

Brescia University’s library staff are happy to assist you in finding the exact book, article (i.e. journal article or book chapter), or audio/visual you need through our Interlibrary Loan exchange. Use the links at the bottom to get the process started.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service provided By Fr. Leonard Alvey Library for current Brescia faculty, staff, and students.

Submitting Requests

Through our online catalog, or
Through an Ebsco database (articles only), or
Through our Journal Finder service (articles only), or
Through the appropriate link at the bottom, or
Through email: illoan@brescia.edu, or
Through a paper form at the circulation desk

Your current Brescia ID allows you borrowing privileges at area Owensboro libraries (Daviess County Public Library, Kentucky Wesleyan College, and Owensboro Community and Technical College). If the item you need is available at one of these local libraries, you are encouraged to check it out from there.

Arrival/Pickup of Request

Email notification of item's arrival (Brescia email addresses only)
Check out returnable ILL items at the circulation desk with current Brescia ID card
PDFs or photocopied items will be sent via Brescia email only

Disclaimer: Fr. Leonard Alvey Library cannot guarantee that items requested via ILL will arrive in a timely fashion. The late arrival of items is usually due to circumstances out of the Fr. Leonard Alvey Library's control (i.e. courier delay, network failure, lost mail, etc.).

Book Request

Article/Chapter Request

Audio/Visual Request

Renewal Request

Medical Technology Research Guide: Start Here

Click here to access current Outstanding Academic Titles for Medical Technology

Assistant Librarian

Featured Resources

Submitting Requests

Arrival/Pickup of Request