LibGuides: Secondary Education Research Guide: Home

Sarah Cox

Email Me

Contact:

Public Services Manager
Fr. Leonard Alvey Library

270-686-4212

Featured Resources

Am I My Brother's Keeper? by Adriana Villavicencio; David E. Kirkland
Call Number: Stacks 373.0899607471 V727 (Room 120, Ground Floor)
Publication Date: 2021-05-30
Am I My Brother's Keeper? offers powerful insights into the challenges of implementing large-scale educational change. The book, chronicling the Expanded Success Initiative (ESI), a four-year study focused on improving the educational outcomes of fifteen thousand Black and Latinx males in New York City public high schools, covers what worked, what didn't, and what we can learn from the experience.
Fostering Mental Health Literacy Through Adolescent Literature by Brooke Eisenbach (Editor); Jason Scott Frydman (Editor)
Call Number: EBSCO eBooks
Publication Date: 2021-11-30
Fostering Mental Health Literacy through Adolescent Literature provides educators a starting point for engaging students in the study of adolescent literature that features mental health themes with the intended goal of developing students' mental health literacy while simultaneously attending to English Language Arts content and literacy standards.
Teaching Students to Decode the World by Chris Sperry; Cyndy Scheibe
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2022-03-23
In our media-saturated environment, how can we teach students to distinguish true statements from those that are false, misleading, or manipulative? How can we help them develop the skills needed to identify biases and stereotypes, determine credibility of sources, and analyze their own thinking and its effect on their perceptions? In Teaching Students to Decode the World, authors Chris Sperry and Cyndy Scheibe tackle these questions as they introduce readers to constructivist media decoding (CMD), a specific way to lead students through a question-based analysis of media materials--including print and digital documents, videos and films, social media posts, advertisements, and other formats--with an emphasis on critical thinking and collaboration.
Culturally and Socially Responsible Assessment by Catherine S Taylor (Author) Susan Bobbitt Nolen (Author)
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Publication Date: 2022-02-11
This book addresses a problem that affects the work of all educators: how traditional methods of assessment undermine the capacity of schools to serve students with diverse cultural and social backgrounds and identities. Anchored in a common-sense notion of validity, this book explains how current K-12 assessment practices are grounded in the language, experiences, and values of the dominant White culture
A Quiet Revolution by Michael D. Steele; Craig Huhn
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
In this book, we explore the case of Holt High School though an exploration of how the mathematics curriculum has shifted over the past thirty years, and the conditions and supports that have been put in place in the district to make this work fruitful and sustainable.
Critical Race Theory and Its Critics by Francesca López; Christine E. Sleeter; James A. Banks (Series edited by)
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Publication Date: 2023-04-28
In Critical Race Theory and its Critics, Francesca López and Christine Sleeter provide readers with an overview of today's controversy, contextualizing the immediate precursors to the attacks on critical race theory and other equity-focused approaches in schools, as well as the organized reaction by conservative think tanks to undermine equity efforts.

Best Bets

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more on a variety of subject areas.
- What's included?
  The database features thousands of full-text articles and citations from scholarly and non-scholarly journals going back as far as the late 1800s, with the majority of full text titles in PDF format.
ERIC (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
- What's included?
  ERIC contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
JSTOR
- Why search here?
  The database includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, ecology biology, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
- What's included?
  JSTOR provides full text and bibliographic access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources.
MasterFILE Premier & MasterFile Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  MasterFILE Premier and Reference eBook Collection contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues.
- What's included?
  Designed specifically for public libraries, these databases provide full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. They also include an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
Primary Search & Primary Search Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Designed for elementary school libraries, Primary Search covers a variety of topics, including endangered species, famous musicians, fitness and space exploration.
- What's included?
  Primary Search is a full-text database providing popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection.
PsycArticles
- Why search here?
  This collection from American Psychological Association (APA) provides access to the full spectrum of study in the field — including cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences.
- What's included?
  APA PsycArticles contains full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Teacher Reference Center covers education topics such as assessment, best practices, curriculum development, instructional media, literacy standards, current pedagogical research, and teacher education.
- What's included?
  A complimentary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals.
TOPICsearch (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Teachers, librarians and student researchers can use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.
- What's included?
  TOPICsearch provides biographies, book reviews, government information, periodicals, public opinion polls, and international newspapers.

Still Searching? Try these: Additional Databases for Education

Browse for journals available in the library on:

Leading Professional Journals Available Through the Library

Educational Technology Research & Development
Reviewed research primarily concerned with education technology; reviews and international reviews.

Open Access Journals - scholarly research freely available on the web.

American Educational Research Association (AERA)
AERA Open - a peer-reviewed, open access journal provided by the American Educational Research Association that covers topics relevant to teachers of Pre-k through post-secondary education.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Education
Directory of over 400 open access journals related to the field of education.
Smart Learning Environments
This journal is a pioneering journal focuses on modern technology’s application in education sector and explores technological involvement in the interaction between teachers and students.

Films on Demand - Education
Education related films from Films on Demand

Boyhood
Call Number: DVD 791.4372 B792 (Main Floor)
Filmed over short periods from 2002 to 2013, Boyhood is a groundbreaking cinematic experience covering 12 years in the life of a family. At the center is Mason, who with his sister Samantha, are taken on an emotional and transcendent journey through the years, from childhood to adulthood.
The presentation zen way: video lessons on simple presentation design and delivery by Garr Reynolds
Call Number: DVD 658.452 R462 (Main Floor)
In this personal, one-on-one video, Garr expands on his ideas from his popular book, Presentation Zen, and blog, presentationzen.com, and challenges you to go beyond the conventional slide presentation style and think more creatively to achieve simpler, more effective presentations.
School of the Future
Call Number: DVD 370.973 S372 (Main Floor)
Once the envy of the world, American schools are now in trouble. Can the science of learning including new insights from neuroscientists, psychologists, and educators reveal how kids brains work and tell us which techniques are most likely to engage and inspire growing minds? Teachers, students, parents, and scientists take center stage as NOVA explores a new vision for the School of the Future.
Wonder
Call Number: DVD 791.4372 W873
Based on the beloved best-selling novel, WONDER follows the inspiring story of the Pullman family, whose youngest child, Auggie, is a boy born with facial differences. When Auggie enters mainstream elementary school for the first time, his extraordinary journey unites his family, his school, and his community, and proves that you can't blend in when you were born to stand out. Oscar® winner Julia Roberts, Owen Wilson, and Jacob Tremblay star in this heartwarming and uplifting film.

Biographies & Encyclopedias

Britannica Online
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Britannica Academic includes the essentials for conducting thorough research all in one site and delivers fast and easy access to trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
- What's included?
  This online encyclopedia includes over 100,000 articles plus an expansive collection of multimedia including images, videos, audio, interactives, and infographics.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia has over 25,000 easy-to-read encyclopedia articles for covering an array of topics. The information is updated annually.
- What's included?
  The database contains images, indexes, and brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

eBook Collections

eBooks (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
- What's included?
  EBSCO eBooks provides full text for thousands of up-to-date reference, scholarly, and professional books.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
- Why search here?
  Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- What's included?
  Gale provides full text for reference, scholarly, and professional books.
JSTOR
- Why search here?
  The database includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, ecology biology, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
- What's included?
  JSTOR provides full text and bibliographic access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources.

Additional Databases

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
- Why search here?
  The Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years: The American Archive of Public Broadcasting. The American Archive will ensure that this rich source for American political, social, and cultural history and creativity will be saved and made available once again to future generations.
- What's included?
  The collection of 40,000 hours contains thousands of high quality programs that have had national impact. The vast majority of this initial American Archive content, however, consists of regional and local programs that document American communities during the last half of the twentieth century and the first decade of the twenty-first. This extraordinary collection includes local news and public affairs programs, local history productions that document the heritage of local communities, and programs dealing with education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion, and even filmmaking on a local level.
Kentucky Research Commons This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  The Kentucky Research Commons makes Kentucky’s finest scholarship, from undergraduate journals to faculty monographs, available to scholars around the world.
- What's included?
  Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Commons includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. By aggregating these collections into one portal, the Kentucky Research Commons makes it possible to explore the breadth of Kentucky's finest research.
Learning Cloud Professional Development & Training Solution
- Why search here?
  Learn advanced skills, prepare for new positions or careers, share concepts and ideas with groups or train your students, teammates or colleagues, and earn CEU credits.
- What's included?
  Dive into more than 80,000 microlearning videos and hundreds of professionally developed courses designed to help you master new skills, practice concepts, share ideas, and assess learning.
Learning Express Library
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This e-resource supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass the GED®, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.
- What's included?
  This flagship LearningExpress product offers a comprehensive selection of interactive online tutorials, practice tests, articles, e-books and high-stakes test preparation.
MasterFILE Premier & MasterFile Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  MasterFILE Premier and Reference eBook Collection contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues.
- What's included?
  Designed specifically for public libraries, these databases provide full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. They also include an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
MAS Ultra — School Edition (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Designed specifically for high school libraries, MAS Ultra – School Edition is a full-text database covering many subjects, including history, science and health.
- What's included?
  This is a full-text database of popular magazines, reference books and primary sources. It also includes over a million photos, maps and flags.
Middle Search Plus & Middle Search Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Designed for middle school libraries, Middle Search Plus and Reference eBook Collections cover subjects such as history, current events, science and sports.
- What's included?
  These full-text database provide popular middle school magazines, reference books, thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.
OpenDissertations (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  EBSCO Open Dissertations includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations and was built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
- What's included?
  Open Dissertations is a free database with records for more than 1.4 million electronic theses and dissertations from more than 320 universities around the world.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Gale's Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
- What's included?
  Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.
PsycINFO (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
- What's included?
  APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts.

Brescia University’s library staff are happy to assist you in finding the exact book, article (i.e. journal article or book chapter), or audio/visual you need through our Interlibrary Loan exchange. Use the links at the bottom to get the process started.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service provided By Fr. Leonard Alvey Library for current Brescia faculty, staff, and students.

Submitting Requests

Through our online catalog, or
Through an Ebsco database (articles only), or
Through our Journal Finder service (articles only), or
Through the appropriate link at the bottom, or
Through email: illoan@brescia.edu, or
Through a paper form at the circulation desk

Your current Brescia ID allows you borrowing privileges at area Owensboro libraries (Daviess County Public Library, Kentucky Wesleyan College, and Owensboro Community and Technical College). If the item you need is available at one of these local libraries, you are encouraged to check it out from there.

Arrival/Pickup of Request

Email notification of item's arrival (Brescia email addresses only)
Check out returnable ILL items at the circulation desk with current Brescia ID card
PDFs or photocopied items will be sent via Brescia email only

Disclaimer: Fr. Leonard Alvey Library cannot guarantee that items requested via ILL will arrive in a timely fashion. The late arrival of items is usually due to circumstances out of the Fr. Leonard Alvey Library's control (i.e. courier delay, network failure, lost mail, etc.).

Book Request

Article/Chapter Request

Audio/Visual Request

Renewal Request