LibGuides: Communication Sciences &amp; Disorders/Speech-Language Pathology Research Guide: Start Here

Library Director

Sr. Judith Nell Riney

Email Me

Contact:

270.686.4288

Featured Resources

This SLP Life by Melissa Page Deutsch
Call Number: Stacks 616.85506 P132 (Mezzanine, Top Floor)
Publication Date: 2020-08-01
Using drama activities based on a range of classic and modern stories, this inspiring resource equips SENCOs, primary school teachers and speech and language therapists alike with simple, practical and effective tools to improve children's speech, language and communication.
Professional Communication in Speech-Language Pathology by A. Embry Burrus; Laura B. Willis
Call Number: EBSCO ebook
Publication Date: 2022
In Professional Communication in Speech-Language Pathology: How to Write, Talk, and Act Like a Clinician, Fourth Edition, the authors introduce student clinicians to the various types of written and verbal communication they will encounter across three different clinical settings: university clinics, medical settings, and public schools. The text is written in a student-friendly manner, with appendices that provide examples of diagnostic and treatment reports, data sheets, and important acronyms in medical and school settings.
Semantic Processing and Word Finding Difficulty Across the Lifespan by Pei-Fang Hung; Lei Sun
Call Number: EBSCO ebook
Publication Date: 2022
For readers looking to understand lexical access and word-finding difficulty (WFD), Semantic Processing and Word Finding Difficulty Across the Lifespan: A Practical Guide for Speech-Language Pathologists provides a comprehensive review of current research and clinical approaches to establish a holistic, interdisciplinary understanding of lexical access and retrieval difficulty across different communication disorders. By including practical guidelines and protocols, this professional text can help speech-language pathologists (SLPs) and other related professionals bridge the gap between research and clinical practice.
Counseling and Motivational Interviewing in Speech-Language Pathology by Jerry Hoepner
Call Number: EBSCO ebook
Publication Date: 2023-08-15
Written as a helpful guide for speech-language pathologists and students, Counseling and Motivational Interviewing in Speech-Language Pathology provides a solid base in theoretical foundations, while prioritizing skill development and practical applications of counseling in speech-language pathology.
Stuttering and Related Disorders of Fluency by Patricia Zebrowski (Editor); Julie Anderson (Editor); Edward Conture (Editor)
Call Number: EBSCO ebook
Publication Date: 2022-08-01
The book is organized into six sections and 17 chapters, with the first section describing basic facts and theories. The second section covers genetic, neural, linguistic, cognitive, and physiological factors. The third section features three dedicated chapters on the diagnosis of preschool-age children, school-age children, and adolescents and adults. The fourth section discusses treatment guidelines with three chapters organized by the same age demographics, while the fifth section covers bilingual and multicultural treatment considerations. The sixth, and last, section provides guidance on cluttering and acquired stuttering-from causes and symptoms to diagnosis and treatment.
Treating Selective Mutism as a Speech-Language Pathologist by Emily R. Doll
Call Number: EBSCO ebook
Publication Date: 2022
Treating Selective Mutism as a Speech-Language Pathologist is a comprehensive yet accessible resource designed to bridge the gap in the current SM literature and empower SLPs to treat this disorder effectively. This valuable professional resource has tools for SLPs at every stage of their careers, from new clinicians preparing for potential cases of SM to experienced SLPs looking to expand their knowledge base.

Best Bets

ASHAWire This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  ASHAWire is the online home for ASHA (American Speech-Language-Hearing Association) journals, The ASHA Leader, and Perspectives of the ASHA Special Interest Groups.
- What's included?
  You can use ASHAWire to search a fully interconnected network of articles, as well as browse most recent and trending research. Brescia has full-text access to the Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research from 2021-Present.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more on a variety of subject areas.
- What's included?
  The database features thousands of full-text articles and citations from scholarly and non-scholarly journals going back as far as the late 1800s, with the majority of full text titles in PDF format.
CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- What's included?
  This valuable resource provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL Database.
Contemporary Issues in Communication Science and Disorders
- Why search here?
  This journal ceased publication in 2016 but provides a 32 year archive of journal articles..
- What's included?
  This journal covers articles from the 1990s to 2016. All materials here are freely accessible..
ERIC (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
- What's included?
  ERIC contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
Health (Salem Press)
- Why search here?
  The health collection contains resources on aspects of infectious diseases and conditions, genetics and inherited conditions, addictions, and nutrition.
- What's included?
  Salem Press provides full text for reference, scholarly, and professional books.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This database covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.
- What's included?
  This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.
PsycArticles
- Why search here?
  This collection from American Psychological Association (APA) provides access to the full spectrum of study in the field — including cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences.
- What's included?
  APA PsycArticles contains full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
PubMed
- Why search here?
  PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally..
- What's included?
  The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources.

Still Searching? Try these: Additional Databases for Speech Pathology and Audiology

Browse for journals available in the library on:

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Journals Available Through the Library

American Journal of Audiology (AJA)
Addresses all aspects of clinical practice in audiology, including screening, assessment, & treatment techniques; prevention; professional issues; supervision; & administration.
American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology (AJSLP)
Addresses all aspects of clinical practice in speech-language pathology, including screening, assessment and treatment techniques; prevention, professional issues, supervision and administration.
Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research (JSLHR)
Includes articles pertaining to the processes & disorders of hearing, language, & speech, & to the diagnosis & treatment of those disorders.
Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools (LSHSS)
All aspects of clinical speech, language, & hearing services to children & adolescents, particularly in school settings.

Open Access Journals - scholarly research freely available on the web.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Otorhinolaryngology
Open access journals related to Otorhinolaryngology
Journal of Speech Pathology & Therapy (Open Access)
Open access journal for speech pathology and therapy.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is an online journal repository created by the US NIH's National Library of Medicine. Launched in 2000, it now contains full-text articles from over 1,200 journals.

Alzheimer's: Every Minute Counts
Call Number: DVD 616.8983 A478 (Main Floor)
Alzheimer's: Every Minute Counts is an urgent wake-up call about the national threat posed by Alzheimer's disease. Many know the unique tragedy of this disease, but few know that Alzheimer's is also a major and rapidly growing public health crisis. This high-profile national PBS documentary powerfully illuminates the social consequences for America unless a medical breakthrough is discovered for this currently incurable disease.
The Autism Enigma
Call Number: DVD 618.9289 A939 (Main Floor)
The Autism Enigma looks at the progress of an international group of scientists who are looking for clues to the baffling disorder by examining the amazingly diverse and powerful microbial ecosystem thats an essential part of the human gastrointestinal tract, and the extraordinary efforts of parents who have been relentlessly pushing science forward in hopes of finding answers for their childrens condition.
The Human Language Series
Call Number: DVD 410 H918
The Human Language Series seeks to explain language by observing how people speak and listen. In three 55-minute films we see and hear the enormous complexity of language which, however, children seem to have no difficulty learning.
Tuesdays with Morrie
Call Number: DVD 791.4572 T913 (Main Floor)
This made-for-TV movie tells the story of an old man, professor of sociology, Morrie Schwartz, who is dying from ALS. He tells a former student, Mitch Albom, about dying, living and what's important in life.

Biographies & Encyclopedias

Britannica Online
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Britannica Academic includes the essentials for conducting thorough research all in one site and delivers fast and easy access to trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
- What's included?
  This online encyclopedia includes over 100,000 articles plus an expansive collection of multimedia including images, videos, audio, interactives, and infographics.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia has over 25,000 easy-to-read encyclopedia articles for covering an array of topics. The information is updated annually.
- What's included?
  The database contains images, indexes, and brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

eBook Collections

eBooks (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
- What's included?
  EBSCO eBooks provides full text for thousands of up-to-date reference, scholarly, and professional books.
Consumer Health Reference eBook Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This database covers a broad range of general health topics, including disease such as cancer and diabetes; weight management and exercise; allergies; senior care; social emotional health; developmental disorders; and natural health.
- What's included?
  Content from this database includes full-text e-books on health topics.

Additional Databases

ERIC (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
- What's included?
  ERIC contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
Learning Cloud Professional Development & Training Solution
- Why search here?
  Learn advanced skills, prepare for new positions or careers, share concepts and ideas with groups or train your students, teammates or colleagues, and earn CEU credits.
- What's included?
  Dive into more than 80,000 microlearning videos and hundreds of professionally developed courses designed to help you master new skills, practice concepts, share ideas, and assess learning.
Learning Express Library
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This e-resource supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass the GED®, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.
- What's included?
  This flagship LearningExpress product offers a comprehensive selection of interactive online tutorials, practice tests, articles, e-books and high-stakes test preparation.
MasterFILE Premier & MasterFile Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  MasterFILE Premier and Reference eBook Collection contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues.
- What's included?
  Designed specifically for public libraries, these databases provide full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. They also include an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
JSTOR
- Why search here?
  The database includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, ecology biology, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
- What's included?
  JSTOR provides full text and bibliographic access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students and offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
- What's included?
  The collection provides access to hundreds of full-text journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo.
PsycINFO (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
- What's included?
  APA PsycInfo contains citations and summaries of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts.
TOPICsearch (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Teachers, librarians and student researchers can use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.
- What's included?
  TOPICsearch provides biographies, book reviews, government information, periodicals, public opinion polls, and international newspapers.

Brescia University’s library staff are happy to assist you in finding the exact book, article (i.e. journal article or book chapter), or audio/visual you need through our Interlibrary Loan exchange. Use the links at the bottom to get the process started.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service provided By Fr. Leonard Alvey Library for current Brescia faculty, staff, and students.

Submitting Requests

Through our online catalog, or
Through an Ebsco database (articles only), or
Through our Journal Finder service (articles only), or
Through the appropriate link at the bottom, or
Through email: illoan@brescia.edu, or
Through a paper form at the circulation desk

Your current Brescia ID allows you borrowing privileges at area Owensboro libraries (Daviess County Public Library, Kentucky Wesleyan College, and Owensboro Community and Technical College). If the item you need is available at one of these local libraries, you are encouraged to check it out from there.

Arrival/Pickup of Request

Email notification of item's arrival (Brescia email addresses only)
Check out returnable ILL items at the circulation desk with current Brescia ID card
PDFs or photocopied items will be sent via Brescia email only

Disclaimer: Fr. Leonard Alvey Library cannot guarantee that items requested via ILL will arrive in a timely fashion. The late arrival of items is usually due to circumstances out of the Fr. Leonard Alvey Library's control (i.e. courier delay, network failure, lost mail, etc.).

Book Request

Article/Chapter Request

Audio/Visual Request

Renewal Request