LibGuides: Math and Computer Science Research Guide: Start Here

Library Director

Sr. Judith Nell Riney

Email Me

Contact:

270.686.4288

Featured Resources

Principles of Cybersecurity by Salem Press
Call Number: Stacks 005.8 P957 (Room 120, Ground Floor)
Publication Date: 2024-03-30
Cybersecurity is multifaceted, encompassing the protection of computers, mobile devices, networks, websites, clout services, and other computer and inter-connected technologies from a wide range of cyperattacks. This volume takes a broad view, covering security-enhancing technologies like encryption and zero trust as well as underlying hardware, software, and internet technologies. Topics discussed range from common cyberattacks and cybercrimes, famous computer viruses and hacking incidents, doxing, cyberbullying, and cyberwarfare and cyberterrorism.
Hardware and Software Projects Troubleshooting by George Koelsch
Call Number: Stacks 004 K78 (Room 120, Ground Floor)
Publication Date: 2023-12-08
The book surveys modelling techniques and various tools that support requirements collection and analysis. You'll learn to manage requirements, including discussions of document types and digital approaches using spreadsheets, generic databases, and dedicated requirements tools. Good, clear examples are presented, many related to real-world work the author has performed during his career. More importantly, you will learn how these techniques can prevent the problems that occur during requirements development.
Story Mode by Julialicia Case; Eric Freeze; Salvatore Pane
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Publication Date: 2024-02-22
Against the backdrop of a hyper-competitive AAA industry and the perception that it is a world reserved for top programmers and hard-core 'gamers', Story Mode offers an accessible entry-point for all into writing and designing complex and emotionally affecting narrative video games. The first textbook to combine game design with creative writing techniques, this much-needed resource makes the skills necessary to consume and create digital and multi-modal stories attainable and fun.
Artificial Intelligence: Advances, Ethics and Strategies by James M. Nichols (Editor)
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Publication Date: 2024-01-09
The field of artificial intelligence is rapidly evolving, and one of the most exciting developments in recent years has been the emergence of generative models. These models have shown the ability to produce human-like language and even generate images, videos, and music. While the potential applications of generative models are vast and impressive, there are also serious concerns about the ethical implications of their use. As the potential of AI and generative models is explored, it is essential to consider the impact they may have on society. AI must be used in a way that is ethical, transparent, and beneficial to all of society. This will require collaboration between government, industry, and academia to ensure that the AI developed is reliable, trustworthy, and aligned with public policy goals.
Nexus by Yuval Noah Harari
Call Number: Stacks 001.09 H254 (Room 120, Ground Floor)
Publication Date: 2024-09-10
For the last 100,000 years, we Sapiens have accumulated enormous power. But despite all our discoveries, inventions, and conquests, we now find ourselves in an existential crisis. The world is on the verge of ecological collapse. Misinformation abounds. And we are rushing headlong into the age of AI--a new information network that threatens to annihilate us. For all that we have accomplished, why are we so self-destructive? Nexus looks through the long lens of human history to consider how the flow of information has shaped us, and our world.
Artificial Intelligence: Background, Risks and Policies by Gary Dalton (Editor)
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Publication Date: 2024-01-18
The field of artificial intelligence (AI) has gone through multiple waves of advancement over the decades. Today, AI can broadly be thought of as computerized systems that work and react in ways commonly thought to require intelligence, such as the ability to learn, solve problems, and achieve goals under uncertain and varying conditions. The field encompasses a range of methodologies and application areas, including machine learning (ML), natural language processing, and robotics. AI holds potential benefits and opportunities, but also challenges and pitfalls.
Supremacy by Parmy Olson
Call Number: Stacks 006.3 O52 (Room 120, Ground Floor)
Publication Date: 2024-09-10
In November of 2022, a webpage was posted online with a simple text box. It was an AI chatbot called ChatGPT, and was unlike any app people had used before. It was more human than a customer service agent, more convenient than a Google search. Behind the scenes, battles for control and prestige between the world's two leading AI firms, OpenAI and DeepMind, who now steers Google's AI efforts, has remained elusive - until now. In Supremacy, Olson, tech writer at Bloomberg, tells the astonishing story of the battle between these two AI firms, their struggles to use their tech for good, and the hazardous direction they could go as they serve two tech monopolies whose power is unprecedented in history.
Critical Data Literacies by Luci Pangrazio; Neil Selwyn
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Publication Date: 2023-11-21
Data has become a defining issue of current times. Our everyday lives are shaped by the data that is produced about us (and by us) through digital technologies. In this book, Critical Data Literacies, Luci Pangrazio and Neil Selwyn introduce readers to the central concepts, ideas, and arguments required to make sense of life in the data age

Best Bets

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more on a variety of subject areas.
- What's included?
  The database features thousands of full-text articles and citations from scholarly and non-scholarly journals going back as far as the late 1800s, with the majority of full text titles in PDF format.
JSTOR
- Why search here?
  The database includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, ecology biology, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
- What's included?
  JSTOR provides full text and bibliographic access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources.
MasterFILE Premier & MasterFile Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  MasterFILE Premier and Reference eBook Collection contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues.
- What's included?
  Designed specifically for public libraries, these databases provide full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. They also include an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.

Browse journals available in the library on:

Open Access Journals - scholarly research freely available on the web.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Mathematics and Computer Science
Open access journals related to mathematics and computer science

Learning CSS3
Call Number: DVD 005.72 B636 (Main Floor)
Learning Bootstrap 3
Call Number: DVD 005.75 S562
Interstellar
Call Number: DVD 791.4372 I66 (Media Room, Mezzanine)
Publication Date: 2015
With our time on Earth coming to an end, a team of explorers undertakes the most important mission in human history; traveling beyond this galaxy to discover whether mankind has a future among the stars.
First Man
Call Number: DVD 791.4372 F527 (Media Room, Mezzanine)
Publication Date: 2019
The riveting story behind the first manned mission to the moon, focusing on Neil Armstrong and the decade leading to the historic Apollo 11 flight. A visceral and intimate account told from Armstrong's perspective, based on the book by James R. Hansen, the film explores the triumphs and the cost, on Armstrong, his family, his colleagues and the nation itself; of one of the most dangerous missions in history.

Biographies & Encyclopedias

Britannica Online
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Britannica Academic includes the essentials for conducting thorough research all in one site and delivers fast and easy access to trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
- What's included?
  This online encyclopedia includes over 100,000 articles plus an expansive collection of multimedia including images, videos, audio, interactives, and infographics.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia has over 25,000 easy-to-read encyclopedia articles for covering an array of topics. The information is updated annually.
- What's included?
  The database contains images, indexes, and brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

eBook Collections

eBooks (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
- What's included?
  EBSCO eBooks provides full text for thousands of up-to-date reference, scholarly, and professional books.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
- Why search here?
  Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- What's included?
  Gale provides full text for reference, scholarly, and professional books.

Additional Databases

ERIC (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
- What's included?
  ERIC contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
Kentucky Journal of Undergraduate Scholarship This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  The Kentucky Journal of Undergraduate Scholarship is an online journal dedicated to showcasing the research and creative activities of undergraduate students across the commonwealth of Kentucky..
- What's included?
  Kentucky Journal of Undergraduate Scholarship publishes original research and creative works by undergraduate students currently enrolled at post-secondary educational institutions in Kentucky. The topics vary by discipline.
Kentucky Research Commons This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  The Kentucky Research Commons makes Kentucky’s finest scholarship, from undergraduate journals to faculty monographs, available to scholars around the world.
- What's included?
  Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Commons includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. By aggregating these collections into one portal, the Kentucky Research Commons makes it possible to explore the breadth of Kentucky's finest research.
Learning Cloud Professional Development & Training Solution
- Why search here?
  Learn advanced skills, prepare for new positions or careers, share concepts and ideas with groups or train your students, teammates or colleagues, and earn CEU credits.
- What's included?
  Dive into more than 80,000 microlearning videos and hundreds of professionally developed courses designed to help you master new skills, practice concepts, share ideas, and assess learning.
Learning Express Library
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This e-resource supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass the GED®, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.
- What's included?
  This flagship LearningExpress product offers a comprehensive selection of interactive online tutorials, practice tests, articles, e-books and high-stakes test preparation.
Newswires (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.
- What's included?
  Newswires is a full-text database of news articles.
OpenDissertations (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  EBSCO Open Dissertations includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations and was built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
- What's included?
  Open Dissertations is a free database with records for more than 1.4 million electronic theses and dissertations from more than 320 universities around the world.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Gale's Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
- What's included?
  Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.
Science (Salem Press)
- Why search here?
  The health collection contains resources on applied science including engineering and mathematics.
- What's included?
  Salem Press provides full text for reference, scholarly, and professional books.
TOPICsearch (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Teachers, librarians and student researchers can use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.
- What's included?
  TOPICsearch provides biographies, book reviews, government information, periodicals, public opinion polls, and international newspapers.

Brescia University’s library staff are happy to assist you in finding the exact book, article (i.e. journal article or book chapter), or audio/visual you need through our Interlibrary Loan exchange. Use the links at the bottom to get the process started.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service provided By Fr. Leonard Alvey Library for current Brescia faculty, staff, and students.

Submitting Requests

Through our online catalog, or
Through an Ebsco database (articles only), or
Through our Journal Finder service (articles only), or
Through the appropriate link at the bottom, or
Through email: illoan@brescia.edu, or
Through a paper form at the circulation desk

Your current Brescia ID allows you borrowing privileges at area Owensboro libraries (Daviess County Public Library, Kentucky Wesleyan College, and Owensboro Community and Technical College). If the item you need is available at one of these local libraries, you are encouraged to check it out from there.

Arrival/Pickup of Request

Email notification of item's arrival (Brescia email addresses only)
Check out returnable ILL items at the circulation desk with current Brescia ID card
PDFs or photocopied items will be sent via Brescia email only

Disclaimer: Fr. Leonard Alvey Library cannot guarantee that items requested via ILL will arrive in a timely fashion. The late arrival of items is usually due to circumstances out of the Fr. Leonard Alvey Library's control (i.e. courier delay, network failure, lost mail, etc.).

Book Request

Article/Chapter Request

Audio/Visual Request

Renewal Request

Math and Computer Science Research Guide: Start Here

Click here to access current Outstanding Math & Computer Science Academic Titles

Library Director

Featured Resources

Submitting Requests

Arrival/Pickup of Request