LibGuides: Chemistry Research Guide: Home

Librarian

Maura O'Donoghue

Email Me

Contact:

Assistant Librarian
Fr. Leonard Alvey Library

270-686-4213 (Office)

Featured Resources

Molecular World by Catherine M. Jackson
Call Number: Stacks 547.2 J12 (Room 120, Ground Floor)
Publication Date: 2023-07-04
According to existing histories, theory drove chemistry’s remarkable nineteenth-century development. In Molecular World, Catherine M. Jackson shows instead how novel experimental approaches combined with what she calls “laboratory reasoning” enabled chemists to bridge wet chemistry and abstract concepts and, in so doing, create the molecular world.
Photosensitizers and Their Applications by Davor Margetic (Editor)
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Publication Date: 2022-07-15
Application of light in chemistry presents an active field of research with a very promising outlook, particularly in technology and medicine. Molecules which mediate the transfer of light to another molecule (photosensitizers) are the cornerstone of exploitation of light. The current state of research and recent progress in applications of photosensitizers in diverse fields are documented in twelve chapters written by scientists from around the world.
Engineering Chemistry Vol. 1 by Angela Justina Kumalaputri (Editor); Zhi Gang Fang (Editor); Ramesh K. Agarwal (Editor)
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Publication Date: 2023-03-30
We are glad to present to your attention a new journal,'Engineering Chemistry'. The first volume contains articles on three topical directions: biofuel production, hydrometallurgy and environmental protection. Membrane microfiltration of glycerol from biodiesel, analysis of challenges in syngas fermentation for bioethanol production, a method for controlling the purity of produced dimethyl ether, investigation of extraction technology for manganese sulfate solution purification in hydrometallurgical production and the review of progress on the use of carbonaceous catalysts activated persulfate for degradation of antibiotic pollutants in wastewater are the topics of articles collected here.
Deep Eutectic Solvents: Properties, Applications and Toxicity by Everaldo Silvino dos (Editor)
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2022-03-21
This book contributes as a rich source of information on the synthesis, main properties, toxicity and applications of Deep Eutectic Solvents (DESs). It covers the viable and sustainable use of these special solvents that due to the versatility of the preparation can be tuned for specific applications. Both hydrophilic and hydrophobic DESs are covered over the chapters.
The Elements of Marie Curie by Dava Sobel
Call Number: Stacks 540.92 C975S (Room 120, Ground Floor))
Publication Date: 2024-10-08
The acclaimed Pulitzer Prize finalist and #1 New York Times bestselling author of Galileo's Daughter crafts a luminous chronicle of the most famous woman in the history of science, and the untold story of the many remarkable young women trained in her laboratory who were launched into stellar scientific careers of their own.

Best Bets

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more on a variety of subject areas.
- What's included?
  The database features thousands of full-text articles and citations from scholarly and non-scholarly journals going back as far as the late 1800s, with the majority of full text titles in PDF format.
CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- What's included?
  This valuable resource provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL Database.
Health (Salem Press)
- Why search here?
  The health collection contains resources on aspects of infectious diseases and conditions, genetics and inherited conditions, addictions, and nutrition.
- What's included?
  Salem Press provides full text for reference, scholarly, and professional books.
JSTOR
- Why search here?
  The database includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, ecology biology, ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
- What's included?
  JSTOR provides full text and bibliographic access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
- What's included?
  MEDLINE contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world.

Still Searching? Try these: Additional Science Databases

Browse for journals available in the library on:

Open Access Journals - scholarly research freely available on the web.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Access to over 19,000 open access journals.

Biographies & Encyclopedias

Britannica Online
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Britannica Academic includes the essentials for conducting thorough research all in one site and delivers fast and easy access to trusted information with balanced, global perspectives and insights that users will not find anywhere else.
- What's included?
  This online encyclopedia includes over 100,000 articles plus an expansive collection of multimedia including images, videos, audio, interactives, and infographics.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia has over 25,000 easy-to-read encyclopedia articles for covering an array of topics. The information is updated annually.
- What's included?
  The database contains images, indexes, and brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.

eBook Collections

eBooks (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
- What's included?
  EBSCO eBooks provides full text for thousands of up-to-date reference, scholarly, and professional books.
Consumer Health Reference eBook Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This database covers a broad range of general health topics, including disease such as cancer and diabetes; weight management and exercise; allergies; senior care; social emotional health; developmental disorders; and natural health.
- What's included?
  Content from this database includes full-text e-books on health topics.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
- Why search here?
  Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- What's included?
  Gale provides full text for reference, scholarly, and professional books.

Additional Databases

ERIC (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
- What's included?
  ERIC contains records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
Kentucky Journal of Undergraduate Scholarship This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  The Kentucky Journal of Undergraduate Scholarship is an online journal dedicated to showcasing the research and creative activities of undergraduate students across the commonwealth of Kentucky..
- What's included?
  Kentucky Journal of Undergraduate Scholarship publishes original research and creative works by undergraduate students currently enrolled at post-secondary educational institutions in Kentucky. The topics vary by discipline.
Kentucky Research Commons This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  The Kentucky Research Commons makes Kentucky’s finest scholarship, from undergraduate journals to faculty monographs, available to scholars around the world.
- What's included?
  Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Commons includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. By aggregating these collections into one portal, the Kentucky Research Commons makes it possible to explore the breadth of Kentucky's finest research.
Learning Cloud Professional Development & Training Solution
- Why search here?
  Learn advanced skills, prepare for new positions or careers, share concepts and ideas with groups or train your students, teammates or colleagues, and earn CEU credits.
- What's included?
  Dive into more than 80,000 microlearning videos and hundreds of professionally developed courses designed to help you master new skills, practice concepts, share ideas, and assess learning.
Learning Express Library
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This e-resource supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass the GED®, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.
- What's included?
  This flagship LearningExpress product offers a comprehensive selection of interactive online tutorials, practice tests, articles, e-books and high-stakes test preparation.
MasterFILE Premier & MasterFile Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  MasterFILE Premier and Reference eBook Collection contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues.
- What's included?
  Designed specifically for public libraries, these databases provide full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. They also include an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
OpenDissertations (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  EBSCO Open Dissertations includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations and was built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
- What's included?
  Open Dissertations is a free database with records for more than 1.4 million electronic theses and dissertations from more than 320 universities around the world.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Gale's Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
- What's included?
  Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.
PubMed
- Why search here?
  PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally..
- What's included?
  The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources.
TOPICsearch (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Teachers, librarians and student researchers can use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.
- What's included?
  TOPICsearch provides biographies, book reviews, government information, periodicals, public opinion polls, and international newspapers.

Brescia University’s library staff are happy to assist you in finding the exact book, article (i.e. journal article or book chapter), or audio/visual you need through our Interlibrary Loan exchange. Use the links at the bottom to get the process started.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service provided By Fr. Leonard Alvey Library for current Brescia faculty, staff, and students.

Submitting Requests

Through our online catalog, or
Through an Ebsco database (articles only), or
Through our Journal Finder service (articles only), or
Through the appropriate link at the bottom, or
Through email: illoan@brescia.edu, or
Through a paper form at the circulation desk

Your current Brescia ID allows you borrowing privileges at area Owensboro libraries (Daviess County Public Library, Kentucky Wesleyan College, and Owensboro Community and Technical College). If the item you need is available at one of these local libraries, you are encouraged to check it out from there.

Arrival/Pickup of Request

Email notification of item's arrival (Brescia email addresses only)
Check out returnable ILL items at the circulation desk with current Brescia ID card
PDFs or photocopied items will be sent via Brescia email only

Disclaimer: Fr. Leonard Alvey Library cannot guarantee that items requested via ILL will arrive in a timely fashion. The late arrival of items is usually due to circumstances out of the Fr. Leonard Alvey Library's control (i.e. courier delay, network failure, lost mail, etc.).

Book Request

Article/Chapter Request

Audio/Visual Request

Renewal Request

Chemistry Research Guide: Home

Click here to access current Outstanding Chemistry Academic Titles

Librarian

Featured Resources

Submitting Requests

Arrival/Pickup of Request